Skip to main content

ENGL 1210-006: First-Year Writing, Women and Culture II (Benjamin)

This guide supports research for First-Year Writing: Women and Culture

Finding Scholarly Sources

Finding scholarly sources

  • Use encyclopedias to find articles: Encyclopedias contain bibliographies, which can help you track down important and reliable sources to use and cite in your research. Encyclopedias are also useful for finding names of scholars on a particular topic, and can be an excellent source for keywords for your searches.
  • Use relevant scholarly articles to find related scholarly articles: When you find an article that applies to the core of your topic, it's useful to look at the footnotes and bibliography to find additional sources for your research. 
  • Search academic databases: I have listed a number of relevant academic databases to use in your searching. Each of these contains a huge number of scholarly articles. Databases like Google Scholar, Proquest and EbscoHost are quite broad in their focus, while others like Black Studies Center and Hapi Online have targeted and sometimes unique coverage. It is sometimes best to start with a larger database to get a feel for what is out there, and moved to smaller and more targeted databases to refine your searching.

Databases for Journal Articles

Barnard and Columbia have access to hundreds of electronic databases. If you aren't sure where to start, you might try CLIO Articles search, which searches multiple databases at the same time. Search for links to the databases through CLIO or take a look at the subject specific research guides for guidance to the best databases for each subject. Here are some that might be particularly useful for this course: