Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
The newly designed Creative Commons’ “CC Search” project is a still developing open online search and re-use tool that allows high-quality content from the commons to surface in a more seamless and accessible way. You can find collections from a variety of openGLAM institutions (open content from galleries, libraries, archives and museums) sources in one place.
The Library of Congress Digital Collections database offers a wide variety of public domain media materials created on behalf of, or collected by, the federal government. Items include historic maps, photographs, musical scores, oral histories, full text documents, and much more.
The catalog contains over 76,000 works of modern and contemporary art from the MoMA's collection of nearly 200,000 works. This database includes exhibition history, links to the Getty ULAN, and details on individual works of art.
This site is a living database of the New York Public Library's digital collections with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more. It includes the digital collections for the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. You can search public domain works by clicking on public domain below the search box.
The Artist+ Registry is the largest database of works by artists with HIV/AIDS. It offers a unique resource to inspire and educate the public. Visual AIDS assists artists with HIV/AIDS, while preserving a visual record of their work and helping them reach new audiences. The Artist+ Registry is open to all HIV+ artists.