LibGuides: ARCH 1598: Building Utopia: Books

Research Librarian

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Meredith Wisner
Librarian for the Arts
mwisner@barnard.edu
Office: 306 Milstein

Mon & Tues: Zoom only
Wed, Thurs, Fri: In-person/Zoom

212.854.7652

Subjects: Architecture, Art History, Dance, Film Studies, First-Year Writing, Music, Theatre

Call Numbers in Architecture

Library of Congress Call Numbers	Subjects
NA1 - 60	General
NA100 - 130	Architecture and the State
NA190 - 1555.5	History
NA1995	Architecture as a profession
NA2000 - 2320	Study and teaching. Research
NA2599.5 - 2599.9	Architectural criticism
NA2695 - 2793	Architectural drawing and design
NA2835 - 4050	Details and decorations
NA4100 - 8480	Special classes and buildings
NA4170 - 7020	Public buildings
NA4590 - 5621	Religious architecture
NA7100 - 7884	Domestic architecture. Houses. Dwellings
NA9000 - 9428	Aesthetics of cities. City planning and beautifying

CLIO Catalog Searching

CLIO Catalog

CLIO is the online catalog to Columbia University Libraries (including Barnard), but excluding Teacher's College and the Law Library who maintain their own catalogs. CLIO contains over 7 million records for books, online resources, journals & newspapers, conference proceedings, sound recordings & scores, videos, archival collections & oral history transcripts, online databases, maps & images, and more!

CLIO Search Tips:

Use the Catalog Search to find books, journal and newspaper titles, media materials, musical scores, archival collections and databases (but not articles within databases). You can also find maps and atlases.
Article Search allows you to search articles indexed in all of Columbia's databases
Search for specific e-journal titles using the E-journal Title search
Use the link to Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan when the book or media item is checked out.

Other Catalogs for Finding Books on Architecture

Art Discovery Group Catalog
This catalog offers an art and architecture focused research experience within the WorldCat environment. Researchers may search within this specialized subset of Worldcat data to hone in on a vast trove of art-historical literature held in an ever-increasing number of the world’s finest art libraries.
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal™ is a free online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog affords art historians and other researchers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
Museum of Modern Art - Dadabase
Dadabase is the online catalog of The Museum of Modern Art Library and Study Centers, with selected holdings of the Museum Archives. MoMA's collection is particularly strong in contemporary architecture and design. Dadabase is part of Arcade, the catalog of the New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC), which include the Frick Art Reference Library and the Brooklyn Museum.

WorldCat
Searches across library and archive catalogs worldwide. It contains over 48 million records, covering all materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world.

ARCH 1598: Building Utopia

CLIO Catalog Searching

CLIO Catalog

CLIO Search Tips:

CLIO Quicksearch

Other Catalogs for Finding Books on Architecture