LibGuides: ENGL 1212-002: First-Year Writing, The Americas (Watson): Popular Sources

Popular Sources

Popular sources (advice from your professor)

Popular sources can be books and articles written by writers and journalists who are not necessarily academics. These resources are not peer reviewed, and they may not include a bibliography of cited sources.

Popular sources may contain original research or reporting, or they may simply summarize specialized scholarly research for a general audience. Popular sources can be useful to your research because:

They may be more likely to cover a very recent or still-developing event than peer reviewed scholarly research
They may be easier to understand than scholar sources
They may have a broader audience than scholarly sources, and may therefore help you identify issues in your field in which the general public has a serious interest

You can use them in your paper as a credible and authoritative.

Generally, a popular source is credible if:

It is published in a reputable publication
It is written by a well respected writer in the field

Generally, a popular source is authoritative if:

it is written by a well respected writer
It is not out of date

Popular Sources

Online newspapers

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles. Part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the world.
Alt-PressWatch
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, journals of the alternative and independent press. Includes titles such as Anarcho-Syndicalist Review, Chicago Reader, Dissent, Off Our Backs, Poverty and Race.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
Gale News Vault
Nexis Uni
An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
Black Newspapers
Full text and full-image articles from African American newspapers: Atlanta daily world, Los Angeles sentinel, New York Amsterdam news, Pittsburgh courier, The Chicago defender and more..
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Sun (1837-1985), Boston Globe, Call and Post (1934-1991), Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997), Irish Times (1859-2009), Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Scotsman (1817-1950). Every page in PDF files.
The Historical Guardian and Observer
The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Popular Sources

Online magazines

The following resources were recommended by your professor.

Hard news and opinion

Cultural, political and some science (long form)

Science and technology

Other Resources

Frontline
Long form documentaries by PBS (Public Broadcasting Service).
National Public Radio (NPR)
Recommended stations: KQED, WNYC and BBC World
New York Times blogs
A directory of blogs hosted by the New York Times covering a range of topics.
Pew Research Center
SCOTUSblog
Respected blog for following the Supreme Court.
Slashdot
A news aggregator for science and tech news.
TED
Online videos of lectures by innovators and academics.
Times Topics
A collection of news and resources on current events and cultural topics.