Global Queer Cinemas

CLIO Catalog

CLIO is the online catalog to Columbia University Libraries (including Barnard), but excluding Teacher's College and the Law Library who maintain their own catalogs. CLIO contains over 7 million records for books, online resources, journals & newspapers, conference proceedings, sound recordings & scores, videos, archival collections & oral history transcripts, online databases, maps & images, and more!

CLIO Search Tips:

• Use the Catalog Search to find books, journal and newspaper titles, media materials, musical scores, archival collections and databases (but not articles within databases). You can also find maps and atlases.
• Article Search allows you to search articles indexed in all of Columbia's databases
• Search for specific e-journal titles using the E-journal Title search
• Use the link to Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan when the book or media item is checked out.

Searching in CLIO

While searching for a specific film title can help find books about that film, not all relevant books may be indexed in such a way. For example, in a book about Silent Film, you may find a chapter on Buster Keaton, but his name may not otherwise appear in the CLIO record.

Searching by subject heading allows you to find a greater number of relevant books. The links here lead to CLIO, but many of these phrases will also work in databases. You can also combine these subject headings with other keywords in CLIO's advanced search (e.g., adding "Latin America" or "History" or "criticism") to narrow your search.

Relevant subject headings include:

• Motion pictures 
• Audio-visual materials 
• Film criticism 
• Motion pictures--Reviews
• Film adaptations
• Film genres