LibGuides: EDUC 3088 Senior Research Seminar: Books

Searching for Books

Work on developing good keywords and search phrases related to your topic
Use Library of Congress subject headings in your searching. One of the easiest places to find LCSH is within catalog records in CLIO, by clicking on them, you can explore a range of materials across disciplines that can be useful to you research. There are also lists of official subject headings at the Library of Congress website.
Remember to incorporate boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT in your searching to refine your results by limiting, broadening, or omitting words or short phrases in your initial searches.
Use the Virtual Shelf Browse tool in CLIO to get an idea of the materials shelved in the area of the stacks where your book is located

Call Numbers in Education

Browse the Stacks!

Topics in education frequently, though not always, fall into the following classifications in the Library of Congress classification system. You can go to the library stacks and browse the shelves for books with call numbers beginning with the following classifications:

L - Education (General)

LA - History of Education

LB - Theory & Practice of Education

LC - Social Aspects of Education

LD - Individual Institutions: United States

LE - Individual Institutions: American except United States

LF - Individual Institutions: Europe

LG - Individual Institutions: Africa, Asia, Oceania

LH - College and School Magazines and Papers

LJ - Student Fraternities and Societies in the United States

LT - Multi-Subject Textbooks

Ebook Databases

This is a list of general ebook databases, it is not comprehensive. Keep in mind that you other general and subject area specific databases also contain ebooks and that there are many more subject-specific ebook databases available to you in CLIO. For an expanded list please visit the A-Z databases list and narrow your search to ebooks.

Cambridge Companions
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
Cambridge Histories
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Ebook Central
A database of ebooks. Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.
EBSCO eBook collection
Searchable collection of current electronic books (ebooks) from university and commercial publishers and electronic books in the public domain.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Contains e-book collections in the subject areas of: Area Studies; Arts; Behavioral Sciences; Bioscience; Built Environment; Communication Studies; Computer Science; Development Studies; Earth Sciences; Economics, Finance, Business & Industry; Education; Engineering & Technology; Environment & Agriculture, Environment and Sustainability; Food Science & Technology; Geography; Health and Social Care; Humanities; Information Science; Language & Literature; Law; Mathematics & Statistics; Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing & Allied Health; Museum and Heritage Studies; Physical Sciences; Politics & International Relations; Reference & Information Science; Social Sciences; Sports & Leisure; Tourism, Hospitality and Events; Urban Studies.

Oxford Handbooks Online - Education
Oxford Handbook offers an authoritative and state-of-the-art survey of current thinking and research. Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in the discipline give critical examination of the progress and direction of debates, providing scholars and graduate students with compelling new perspectives.

From economics and politics to literature and philosophy, you can discover more than 1,000 Oxford Handbooks on a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and law. With new books and articles published online every month, you can be certain that you are accessing the most current information you need for your research.