LibGuides: WMST GU4305: Decolinization and Feminist Critique: Secondary Sources (Articles)

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, primarly peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts fof more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings.. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.
ProQuest Central
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).
Social Sciences Full Text
Social sciences full text covers concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. More than 350 key international, English-language periodicals. Indexing of periodicals provided from 1983-current, full text coverage starting 1995.
Humanities Full Text
Brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.

Contemporary Women's Issues
Provides full text access to information about women in over 190 countries, including journal and magazine articles, research reports, and fact sheets.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E., with citations for Russia extended to 1613.
Gender Studies Database
Gender Studies Database, produced by National Information Services Corporation (NISC), combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
GenderWatch
This database includes full text works from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports from 1970 to present.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
LGBTQ+ Source
Provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for more than 50 journals, magazines and regional newspapers and dozens of monographs; also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus with over 6,400 terms. Contains indexing and abstracts for GLBT-specific core periodicals and GLBT-specific core books and reference works. Indexes important historical GLBT publications, including ONE, The Ladder, Mattachine Review, The Advocate, Christopher Street, Body Politic, The New York Native, and much more. Includes some monographs and reference books, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, and speeches.
Project Muse
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

America: History and Life with Full Text

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
Black Studies Center
A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.
Chicano Database
Includes over 67,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources including newspapers, books and book chapters. The database provides extensive depth with coverage dating back to the 1960s and selective indexing dating back to the early 1900s. Subject coverage includes art, bilingual education, education, labor, literature, mental health, law, poetry, politics and sociology.
Education Research Complete
This database provides citations, abstracts and full text for scholarly education journals and books.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals (including many scholarly journals) published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) online

Citations to articles and book reviews in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean and Hispanic Americans. Subject focus excludes pure and technical sciences. Links to full-text are available for selected journals.
Race Relations Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.
Social Sciences Full Text
Social sciences full text covers concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. More than 350 key international, English-language periodicals. Indexing of periodicals provided from 1983-current, full text coverage starting 1995.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1963 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records for journal articles added after 1974 contain in-depth abstracts. Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business, education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; women's studies.