Skip to main content

Psychology

Finding Articles

Articles, essays, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc., can be found in databases subscribed to by Columbia University Libraries (CUL).  Barnard affiliates can access all the CUL resources, which includes over 1600 databases. 

  • The best way to access a database is via CLIO.  Each database has a special URL assigned by CUL, and you need to access the database using that URL in order to be able to read the full text articles that CUL subscribes to. (For example, the URL to use for Proquest is http://www.columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?clio8557099, not proquest.com).
  • If you're searching for an article in a journal that CUL doesn't subscribe to, request the article via the Borrow Direct/Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
  • For more tips, see the Database Searching Guide (from CUL)
  • Google Scholar can be a helpful resource and powerful tool in locating research papers. However, it should not be the only resource consulted. Google Scholar uses artificial intelligence and proprietary algorithms to search through vast amounts of text in nearly every subject discipline. Keep in mind that other resources, such as those found in Barnard Libguides, may be more targeted and curated for researching within a particular field.

Top Databases for Scholarly Literature, including Articles, Conference Papers, etc.

  • Counseling and Therapy in Video
    An online collection of video for the study of psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Videos include counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, and interviews.
  • ERIC
    The Educational Resources Information Center is a database from the U.S. Dept. of Education providing access to education-related literature.  It contains records and links to full text documents dating back to 1966, with coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories and books.
    There are two different interfaces to the same data: ERIC in EBSCOhost | ERIC in Proquest.
  • Gender Studies
    Combines the databases Women's Studies International and Men's Studies with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.  Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, working papers and dissertations.
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
    Core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages.
  • MEDLINE
    The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier bibliographic database, containing millions of references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
    There are three different interfaces to the same data: MEDLINE in EBSCOhost | MEDLINE in Ovid | MEDLINE in Web of Science.
  • PEP Web
    Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing: journals and books on psychoanalysis, including the complete works of Sigmund Freud.
  • ProQuest
    An interdisciplinary database with full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals, newspapers (NY Times back to 1851) and dissertations.
  • PsycINFO
    The major database for psychology, providing citations and abstracts for the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics. 
  • Scopus
  • Scholarly articles in all disciplines, including psychology. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Covers concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Indexes the international literature in sociology, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • Web of Science
    Scholarly articles in all disciplines, including psychology. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify.