ECON 3013: Economic History of the United States

Search and view digital page images of numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S., covering the entire 19th century.

African American periodicals, 1825-1995 enables users to search many periodicals by and about African Americans. The collection is based upon James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998). Drawn from holdings of the Wisconsin Historical Society, African American Periodicals ranges over more than 150 years of American life, from slavery during the Antebellum Period to the modern era.

Presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and British Columbia, including Alaska, Arizona, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

For searching and browsing American newspapers published in three centuries, America's Historical Newspapers is the most comprehensive online resource available. Continually expanding, it offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past. America's Historical Newspapers features Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922; 20th-Century American Newspapers, Series 1-3; and American Ethnic Newspapers. The latter includes African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971.

This resource provides searchable full text and page images for more than 1,100 American magazines and journals that originated between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Here you'll find hundreds of digitized American, British, and European scholarly journals published in the arts, humanities, and the social sciences.

Full-text and full-image articles, dating back to their first issues for American newspapers including the New York Times (1851-2012), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1998), the Washington Post (1877-1999), the Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), the Boston Globe (1872-1984), the Chicago Tribune (1890-1992), and the Los Angeles Times (1881-1992). The link will take you to an advanced search page for all the newspapers in the database. If you'd like to restrict your search to one paper in particular, click on the "Publications" link at the top left of the page to find your preferred source(s). You will then be on a page that allows you to "Search within this publication."

This is a searchable archive of leading U.S. women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Subject coverage includes consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history. The magazines are all scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and include non-article items, such as advertisements. Detailed article-level indexing, with document feature flags, enables searching and navigation.