Barnard Personal Librarians are available for research help, citation guidance, questions on accessing items, or any other library related questions. You can meet with us in-person or on Zoom. Click the button below to schedule a consultation (or click this link)
|Erin Anthony||Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Science, Mathematics, Neuroscience and Behavior, Physical Education, Physics and Astronomy, and Psychology|
|Jennie Correia||Economics, Human Rights, Political Science, Sociology, and Urban Studies|
|Jenna Freedman||Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies, Zines|
|Gina Levitan||American Studies (with Vani Natarajan), Classics & Ancient Studies, Education, German, History, Medieval & Renaissance Studies, Philosophy, Religion, and Slavic Studies|
|Vani Natarajan||Africana Studies, American Studies (with Gina Levitan), Anthropology, Asian & Middle Eastern Cultures, Comparative Literature, English, French, Italian, Jewish Studies, and Spanish and Latin American Cultures|
|Meredith Wisner||Architecture, Art (studio), Art History, Dance, Film Studies, Music, and Theater|
|Incoming Students, last names A-C||Jennie Correia|
|Incoming Students, last names D-I||Gina Levitan|
|Incoming Students, last names J-N||Erin Anthony|
|Incoming Students, last names O-S||Meredith Wisner|
|Incoming Students, last names T-Z||Vani Natarajan|
If you were assigned a PL last year, your personal librarian hasn’t changed! And all are welcome to continue reaching out to the librarian(s) they wish.
Please check out our Audiobooks at Barnard guide for more information!
Virtual Circulation & Help Desk chat with Barnard Library Access Services, during open hours.
Ask a Librarian is a Columbia chat reference service that offers immediate research help during regular business hours. You can check those hours here.
CLIO online catalog is the access point for e-books, streaming media, and online journals for the libraries of both Barnard and Columbia. Teachers College and the Law Library at Columbia maintain separate catalogs.
Personal Librarians: You can make an appointment for research consultations with your personal librarian, or make an appointment with the next available librarian.
IMATS has created a one-page guide to joining Zoom classes from CourseWorks.
IMATS and A/V have many resources to support faculty:
While searching in CLIO is a great way to find ebooks, it can take a bit of time for newly purchased ebooks to show up there. Try searching these individual ebook databases as well as free and open ebook databases.
For a full list of ebook collections available at Columbia & Barnard, click this link:
You can find thousands of online newspapers, magazines, and other sources of news through CLIO. To search for a specific newspaper or magazine, for publications from a certain city, or for a specific article, use CLIO:
Here are direct links to the CLIO records for commonly requested news sources:
Here are links to some library databases that provide full-text news from a wide variety of papers, magazines, broadcasts, blogs, etc.
These are some selected streaming music & audio databases available to the Barnard/Columbia community. When off-campus, you'll need a UNI to log-in to the databases.
For a full, up-to-date list of video databases that Barnard/Columbia subscribe to, click this CLIO link.
These are some selected streaming video databases available to the Barnard/Columbia community. When off-campus, you'll need a UNI to log-in to the databases.
For a full, up-to-date list of video databases that Barnard/Columbia subscribe to, click this CLIO link or check Columbia's guide to streaming video.
College students that attend New York State colleges but are studying remotely from home out of the state/country may still apply for NYPL cards!