Skip to main content

Chemistry

Finding Articles

Articles, essays, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc., can be found in databases subscribed to by Columbia University Libraries (CUL).  Barnard affiliates can access all the CUL resources, which includes over 1600 databases. 

  • The best way to access a database is via CLIO.  Each database has a special URL assigned by CUL, and you need to access the database using that URL in order to be able to read the full text articles that CUL subscribes to. (For example, the URL to use for Proquest is http://www.columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?clio8557099, not proquest.com).
  • If you're searching for an article in a journal that CUL doesn't subscribe to, request the article via the Borrow Direct/Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
  • For more tips, see the Database Searching Guide (from CUL)
  • Google Scholar can be a helpful resource and powerful tool in locating research papers. However, it should not be the only resource consulted. Google Scholar uses artificial intelligence and proprietary algorithms to search through vast amounts of text in nearly every subject discipline. Keep in mind that other resources, such as those found in Barnard Libguides, may be more targeted and curated for researching within a particular field.

Top Databases for Scholarly Literature, including Articles, Conference Papers, etc.

  • JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments
    The world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal.
  • PubMed
    Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
  • SciFinder (to register, use this link: columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?clio6702921.999)
    Provides access to the Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) databases of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, to CASREACT, to the Registry database from CAS, and to Medline.
  • Scopus
    Excellent source for citation searching or finding original articles in chemistry.
  • SpringerLink
    Full-text access to journals and books published by Springer. Subjects include life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics and astronomy, engineering and economics.
  • Web of Science
    Scholarly articles in all disciplines, including chemistry. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify, and for various kinds of citation analysis.