LibGuides: AHIS 3959: Art History Senior Research Seminar: Getting Started

Using this Guide

Welcome to the research guide for Senior Seminar in Art History

Here you will find resources to help you with your architecture research. Use the side navigation to find:

Resources to find background information on your topic
Places to find books in print and online
Databases for locating scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles, reviews, and newspaper articles
Primary sources for doing archival research
Databases for finding high-quality and reliable images
Information for citing your sources and writing in art history

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, you can make an appointment by clicking on the "Schedule Appointment button on the left, or email me at mwisner@barnard.edu.

Image: [detail] Art History Class at Metropolitan Museum with Professor Julius Held, 1962. Photograph. Barnard College Archives. http://digitalcollections.barnard.edu/islandora/object/islandora:1760.

General Reference Resources for Art History

Background resources in art history

College Art Association Reviews
CAA Reviews publishes timely scholarly and critical reviews of studies and projects in all areas and periods of art history, visual studies, and the fine arts, providing peer review for the disciplines served by CAA. Publications and projects reviewed include books, articles, exhibitions, conferences, digital scholarship, and other works as appropriate.
Dictionary of Art Historians
The Dictionary of Art Historians is a free, privately funded biographical dictionary of historians of western art written and maintained by scholars for the benefit of the public.
Metropolitan Museum's Heilbrunn Timeline of the History of Art
The Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as demonstrated through the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. Users can compare art across cultures and geographic areas for a given time span or pursue the development of art for a single place or culture over an extended time period. The integration of maps, timelines and special features makes navigation of the site fun and easy.

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online provides access to multiple dictionaries and encyclopedias covering art history, including Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. It's a great one-stop source for general information and to find solid bibliographic suggestions for various topics.

Zotero

What is Zotero?

Zotero: Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collection, organize, cite and share research. It'll change your life! Once you've downloaded the Zotero software and browser connector, you will be able to save books you find in the catalog, resource you spot on the web, and even ingest pdfs of article - complete with all their citation information - and store them in one easy to organize space.

Zotero Tips

Use Zotero to organize your research, add annotations to resources, and to create bibliographies and footnotes
Download Zotero by going to Zotero.org. Remember to download the software and preferred browser plugin
Set the citation style by selecting "Zotero" in the top navigation of your computer and then "Preferences"
Use the Zotero icon in your browser to save resources you find in CLIO (or other library catalogs) and on the web
Create bibliographies by dragging and dropping selected items
Create footnotes by dragging and dropping while holding the shift button (Mac) or right clicking (PC) on the desired resource

Zotero 6 Videos

For PCs (20 minutes)
For Macs (33 minutes)

AHIS 3959: Art History Senior Research Seminar

Research Librarian

Get an NYPL Card!