Skip to main content

Philosophy

Finding Articles

Articles, essays, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc., can be found in databases subscribed to by Columbia University Libraries (CUL).  Barnard affiliates can access all the CUL resources, which includes over 1600 databases. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good place to start, but it has limitations. 

  • Because it's a full-text search, it can be hard to narrow down to the precise topic you're interested in.
  • You can narrow your search by specifying that your keywords are in the title, by using the advanced search or by putting allintitle: in front of the keywords.
  • Go to Settings and enable "Library Links" for Columbia University; this will make the Columbia e-Link show up in the results list so that you can easily go to the full text.

Top Databases for Scholarly Literature, including Articles, Conference Papers, etc.

  • ATLA
    Combines the index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
  • L'année philologique
    Indexes periodical articles as well as articles in collections and conference papers in classics and classical studies. It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world.
  • Humanities Full Text
    The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
  • JSTOR
    Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
  • Past Masters
    Several searchable full-text collections of writings by key philosophers and thinkers from ancient times to the present, including Anselm, Aristotle, Augustine, Bentham, Berkeley, Calvin, Descartes, John Dewey, Hegel, Hobbes, Hume, Leibniz, Locke, Luther, Mill, Nietzche, Peirce, Plato, Ricardo, Rousseau, Adam Smith, Thomas Aquinas, Wittgenstein and many others
  • Philosopher's Index
    Index with abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. It covers the major fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of releted fields such as education, history, law and religion.
  • PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online
    A comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers
  • POIESIS
    The full text of hundreds of issues of participating philosophy journals may be searched. Every word (unique character string) is fully indexed and search results find every paragraph containing the search term.