LibGuides: ENGL 3920: Migration, Immigration, and the Borders of American Literature: Getting Started

About This Guide

In this guide, you'll find resources to help you with your research for Migration, Immigration and the Borders of American Literature.

Resources to research background and contextual information on your topic and the approaches you might be bringing to your research (see links below)
Places to find books in print and online
Databases for locating articles, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles
Approaches to finding primary sources
Resources for citing your sources and writing in Africana Studies
Guidelines for getting required course texts for free via the Library

Please feel free to book an appointment with me on my calendar page, for further support with your research.

Image: Karayorgis, Pandelis (1992). Sun Ra at New England Conservatory. photograph. Image via Wikimedia Commons. CC BY-SA 3.0.

LINK TO SLIDESHOW

Reference Sources

Reference sources can be really generative tools for looking up backgrounds, concepts, word histories, and more. A reference article, especially one from an encyclopedia, companion or handbook, might also offer a bibliography of sources cited that you can use to engage with further readings. To do a broad search for reference articles around a key term, use the CLIO Articles search, and then limit your results by Content Type to Reference.

Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics and History by Richard M. Juang (Editor); Noelle Morrissette (Editor)
ISBN: 9781851094417
Publication Date: 2008-03-12
This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa. Articles are searchable by keywords, or browseable alphabetically.
Border Culture by Ilan Stavans (Editor)
ISBN: 9780313358210
Publication Date: 2010-02-09
With Border Culture, Ilan Stavans has collected essays representative of the tangled experiences and issues central to life between cultures. Divided into two sections. "Considerations" culls essays covering socio-economic and political topics illustrating the hyper reality of life and living on La Frontera. Section two, "Testimonios," takes careful consideration of lives affected by the border, either as a finite place, alternate universe, or the framework of the border as a state-of-mind, through various historic and literary accounts of La Frontera.
Critical Race Theory: An Introduction by Richard Delgado; Jean Stefancic
ISBN: 0585434697
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Enciclopedia del Español en los Estados Unidos by Humberto Lopez Morales; Instituto Cervantes de Cracovia Staff
Call Number: Butler Reference: E184.S75 E53 2009
ISBN: 8493477214
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Angela Doolin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028661742
Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Keywords for African American Studies by Erica R. Edwards (Editor); Roderick A. Ferguson (Editor); Jeffrey O. G. Ogbar (Editor)
ISBN: 9781479852833
Publication Date: 2018
This volume assembles keywords of African American Studies, exploring not only the history of those categories but their continued relevance in the contemporary moment. Taking up a vast array of issues such as slavery, colonialism, prison expansion, sexuality, gender, feminism, war, and popular culture, Keywords for African American Studies showcases the startling breadth that characterizes the field. With contributors across the social sciences and the humanities.
Keywords for American Cultural Studies by Bruce Burgett (Editor); Glenn Hendler (Editor)
ISBN: 9780814725313
Publication Date: 2014-12-19
A resource for understanding key terms and debates in the fields of American studies and cultural studies. Designed as a print-digital hybrid publication this book collects more than 90 essays from interdisciplinary scholars, each on a single term such as "America," "culture," "law," and "religion." The publication brings together essays by scholars working in literary studies and political economy, cultural anthropology and ethnic studies, African American history and performance studies, gender studies and political theory.
Keywords for Asian American Studies by Cathy J. Schlund-Vials (Editor); K. Scott Wong (Editor); Linda Trinh Võ (Editor)
Call Number: Barnard E184.A75 K49 2015
ISBN: 9781479874538
Publication Date: 2015
Born out of the Civil Rights and Third World Liberation movements of the 1960s and 1970s, Asian American Studies has grown significantly over the past four decades, both as a distinct field of inquiry and as a potent site of critique. Characterized by transnational, trans-Pacific, and trans-hemispheric considerations of race, ethnicity, migration, immigration, gender, sexuality, and class, this multidisciplinary field engages with a set of concepts profoundly shaped by past and present histories of racialization and social formation. The keywords included in this collection are central to social sciences, humanities, and cultural studies and reflect the ways in which Asian American Studies has transformed scholarly discourses, research agendas, and pedagogical frameworks.Spanning multiple histories, numerous migrations, and diverse populations, Keywords for Asian American Studies reconsiders and recalibrates the ever-shifting borders of Asian American studies as a distinctly interdisciplinary field.
Keywords for Latina/o Studies by Deborah R. Vargas (Editor); Lawrence La Fountain-Stokes (Editor); Nancy Raquel Mirabal (Editor)
ISBN: 9781479866045
Publication Date: 2017
A vocabulary of Latinx Studies. Keywords for Latina/o Studies is a generative text that enhances the ongoing dialogue within a rapidly growing and changing field. The keywords included in this collection represent established and emergent terms, categories, and concepts that undergird Latina/o studies; they delineate the shifting contours of a field best thought of as an intellectual imaginary and experiential project of social and cultural identities within the U.S. academy. Bringing together sixty-three essays, from humanists, historians, anthropologists, sociologists, among others, each focused on a single term, the volume reveals the broad range of the field while also illuminating the tensions and contestations surrounding issues of language, politics, and histories of colonization, specific to this area of study.
Native Studies Keywords by Stephanie Nohelani Teves (Editor); Andrea Smith (Editor); Michelle Raheja (Editor)
ISBN: 9780816531509
Publication Date: 2015-05-21
This is an edited volume that provides definitions, meanings, and significances of select key concepts often used in Native studies. These concepts include: sovereignty, land, indigeneity, nations, blood, tradition, colonialism, and indigenous epistemologies/knowledges. The manuscript is divided into eight sections, and each section includes three or four essays about one of the concepts. The essays provide an historical, social, and political context for the concepts and indicate how they have been drawn upon by scholars of Native studies.
Oxford African American Studies Center by by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. (editor)
Publication Date: updated three times a year
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195156003
Publication Date: 2005-08-25