Skip to main content

POLS 3540: Constructing States, Nations and Democracy

Prof. Sheri Berman, Spring 2020

Services at Barnard


Barnard and Columbia Libraries can support a lot of your research needs remotely. Below you will find a list of services provided by the colleges that you can use.


Chat Reference 

Ask a Librarian is a chat reference service that offers immediate research help during regular business hours. You can check those hours here


Collections

CLIO online catalog is the access point for e-books, streaming media, and online journals for the libraries of both Barnard and Columbia. Teachers College and the Law Library at Columbia maintain separate catalogs.


Research Support

  • Personal Librarians: You can make an appointment for online research consultations with your personal librarian, or make an appointment with the next available librarian.

  • Research Guides: The library has created research guides with links to useful reference resources, databases, and other resources organized by subject area or created for specific courses.


Joining your Zoom Class Session

IMATS has created a one-page guide to joining Zoom classes from Canvas.


Teaching Online (for faculty)

​IMATS has created this FAQ for distance learning support. Topics include:

E-Books & E-Textbooks

While searching in CLIO is a great way to find ebooks, it can take a bit of time for newly purchased ebooks to show up there. Try searching these individual ebook databases as well as free and open ebook databases.

For a full list of ebook collections available at Columbia & Barnard, click this link:

Ebooks that need a Barnard/Columbia UNI

Free Online Ebook Resources

Streaming Video at Barnard

These are some selected streaming video databases available to the Barnard/Columbia community. When off-campus, you'll need a UNI to log-in to the databases.

For a full, up-to-date list of video databases that Barnard/Columbia subscribe to, click this CLIO link or check Columbia's guide to streaming video.

Other Remote Resources

Compiled Lists of Free E-Resources

Selected Resources (New York Specific)

Milstein Centers and Special Collections

Milstein Centers

Milstein Library Special Collections

Video: What is CLIO?