Physical Education & Wellness

Articles, essays, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc., can be found in databases subscribed to by Columbia University Libraries (CUL).  Barnard affiliates can access all the CUL resources, which includes over 1600 databases. 

• The best way to access a database is via CLIO.  Each database has a special URL assigned by CUL, and you need to access the database using that URL in order to be able to read the full text articles that CUL subscribes to. (For example, the URL to use for Proquest is http://www.columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?clio8557099, not proquest.com).
• If you're searching for an article in a journal that CUL doesn't subscribe to, request the article via the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
• For more tips, see the Database Searching Guide (from CUL)

Google Scholar is a good place to start, but it has limitations. 

• Because it's a full-text search, it can be hard to narrow down to the precise topic you're interested in.
• You can narrow your search by specifying that your keywords are in the title, by using the advanced search or by putting allintitle: in front of the keywords.
• Go to Settings and enable "Library Links" for Columbia University; this will make the Columbia e-Link show up in the results list so that you can easily go to the full text.

• Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
  Offers a broad range of subject coverage in humanities and social science journals dating back to 1907.
• Medline (EBSCO) | Medline (Ovid) | Medline (Web of Science)
  Database from the National Library of Medicine. Areas covered include microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, environmental health, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, social sciences and education, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.
• PsycINFO
  Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles and books in the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics.
• Social Sciences Full Text
  Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals in the social sciences.
• ProQuest
  An interdisciplinary database with full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals, newspapers (NY Times back to 1851) and dissertations.
• Web of Science
  Scholarly articles in all disciplines, including psychology. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify