LibGuides: WMST 3525: Women's, Gender, &amp; Sexuality Studies Senior Seminar: Books

Using CLIO

CLIO Catalog

CLIO is the online catalog to Columbia University Libraries (including Barnard), but excluding Teacher's College and the Law Library who maintain their own catalogs. CLIO contains over 7 million records for books, online resources, journals & newspapers, conference proceedings, sound recordings & scores, videos, archival collections & oral history transcripts, online databases, maps & images, and more!

CLIO Search Tips:

Use the Catalog Search to find books, journal and newspaper titles, media materials, musical scores, archival collections and databases (but not articles within databases). You can also find maps and atlases.
Article Search allows you to search articles indexed in all of Columbia's databases
Search for specific e-journal titles using the E-journal Title search
Use the link to Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan when the book or media item is checked out.

Beyond Baranrd/Columbia

Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If a title isn't available via Columbia University Libraries, you may request it via Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Try Borrow Direct first for books - the delivery is usually faster and you can check books out for a longer period of time. ILL is great for article or book chapter requests.
WorldCat
WorldCat searches libraries collections worldwide.
New York Public Library (NYPL)
The New York Public Library (NYPL) has two catalogs - search Books/Music/Movies for items you can check out, and search Research for their extensive research collections.

I bet you have questions about gender and knowledge organization!

Queering the Catalog: Queer Theory and the Politics of Correction by Emily Drabinski
Critiques of hegemonic library classification structures and controlled vocabularies have a rich history in information studies. This project has pointed out the trouble with classification and cataloging decisions that are framed as objective and neutral but are always ideological and worked to correct bias in library structures. Viewing knowledge organization systems from a queer perspective, however, challenges the idea that classification and subject language can ever be finally corrected.

Cruising the LIbrary by Adler, Melissa
ISBN: 9780823276370

"Cruising the Library offers a highly innovative analysis of the history of sexuality and categories of sexual perversion through a critical examination of the Library of Congress and its cataloging practices. Taking the publication of Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick's Epistemologies of the Closet as emblematic of the Library's inability to account for sexual difference, Melissa Adler embarks upon a detailed critique of how cataloging systems have delimited and proscribed expressions of gender, sexuality, ethnicity, and race in a manner that mirrors psychiatric and sociological attempts to pathologize non-normative sexual practices and civil subjects. Taking up a parallel analysis, Adler utilizes Roderick A. Ferguson's Aberrations in Black as another example of how the Library of Congress fails to account for, and thereby "buries," difference.

WMST 3525: Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Senior Seminar

Library of Congress Call Numbers related to WGSS

Using CLIO

CLIO Catalog

CLIO Search Tips:

Beyond Baranrd/Columbia

I bet you have questions about gender and knowledge organization!