LibGuides: Disability Studies: Data and Statistics

Disability studies suggested data and statistics sources

Annual Disability Statistics Compendium
The mission of the Annual Disability Statistics Compendium is to make disability statistics easier to find and use. The Compendium gathers the most recent national statistics on people with disabilities from various federal programs and agencies.
Disability Statistics
You will find disability statistics and reports based on Census data (Decennial Population and Housing, CPS, and ACS). There are flexible search, extraction, and display features.
The Disability Archive: Centre for Disability Studies
The aim of the Disability Archive (UK), established by Professor Colin Barnes, is to provide disabled people, students, and scholars interested in this field and related fields, access to the writings of those disability activists, writers, and allies whose work may no longer be easily accessible in the public domain.
UN Programme on Disability
The UN Programme on Disability/Secretariat for the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (SCRPD) falls within the Division for Social Inclusive Social Development (DISD) of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA). The secretariat prepares publications and acts as a clearinghouse for information on disability issues; promotes national, regional, and international programs and activities; provides support to governments and civil society, and gives substantial support to technical cooperation projects and activities.

Barnard Library Accessibilty

Barnard Library is committed to following best practices to assure the accessibility of our spaces and collections. The library is elevator-accessible and we provide adjustable-height study carrels and computer stations. Our streaming media includes closed-captioning options and our e-resources are governed by agreements with distributors committed to ensuring accessible formats. Barnard community members may also request remediation services for PDF materials from CARDS or have your document converted into a variety of alternative formats with SensusAccess. We welcome any feedback and input about the accessibility of our spaces and resources and are committed to ensuring safe and equitable access for everyone.

Alternatives to U.S. federal data

"Recently, there have been significant changes to the availability of federal data. These data are heavily used by researchers and the general public; they also undergird policy and funding decisions made on behalf of people across the US and worldwide." - NYU Libraries

Finding Government Information during the 2025 Administration Transition
A thorough guide from University of Minnesota Libraries, including how to cite missing information
Data Rescue Project
The Data Rescue Project and their Data Rescue Portal is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. It serves as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk. "We want to know what is happening in the community so that we can coordinate focus."
End of Term Web Archive
The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR is one of the largest repositories for social science data in the world. Among the many topics covered, you will find statistics on crime, education, demographics, elections, religion, and much more.

Internet Archive: US Government Documents
This collection contains digital versions of United States Government documents as well as other government documents.

PolicyMap
Online data and mapping tool for creating custom reports of data related to demographics, real estate, health, jobs, the environment, education and more. Data comes from authoritative public and proprietary sources. It has thousands of indicators on demographics, the economy, housing, lending, quality of life, education, health, and more. Data is available at the neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, depending on the data.

Tracking Removed and Modified Government Information & Resources
This project from academic librarians at the University of Minnesota - Twin Cities and University of Illinois, Urbana - Champaign is an attempt to track removed and modified government information and resources, to help the public see the scope of what has been removed or modified, and to point to where preserved copies can be found, if possible. There is a form where anyone can add entries for missing gov information and a publicly viewable spreadsheet of all the entries received.
Wayback Machine
Allows you to search among screen captures of web sites over time, with over 411 billion web pages saved. Start with a known URL to explore past iterations of a website and its content.