LibGuides: URBS 3993-001: Urban Studies Senior Seminar: The Built Environment (Passell): News

Off-campus access to online resources

For off-campus access to library online resources, remember to follow the links from CLIO or this research guide. You can also use the proxy bookmarklet.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Can't find an article through our libraries' collections? Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy for free.

Free Subscription to the New York Times!

Free Digital Subscription to the New York Times!

Barnard and Columbia University students, faculty, and staff now have full access to NYTimes.com through Columbia University Libraries.

Full instructions for signing up are here, including how to cancel an existing paid account should you need to.
Barnard students need to sign up using your Columbia email (it's your UNI@columbia.edu). All students are given a CU email.
If you want NYTimes emails and newsletters to forward to your Barnard email be sure to have email forwarding set up.

Times Machine

Times Machine
The Columbia Digital Subscription gives you access to Times Machine, over 150 years of New York Times journalism, as it originally appeared.

Jennie Correia, Social Sciences Librarian

Jennie Correia

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Milstein 304

212.854.9096

Subjects: Economics, First-Year Writing, Human Rights, Political Science, Sociology, Urban Studies

News databases and websites

Access World News
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 12,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
Accessible Archives Complete
Searchable collection of U.S. history resources, including the Pennsylvania Gazette, the Civil War coverage of three newspapers, Godey's Lady's Book, a group of African-American and abolitionist newspapers, and selections from several 19th century Delaware Valley newspapers.
In 2011, Columbia moved to a "subscriber" status in Accessible Archives which waives the maintenance fee. We will see an annual regular subscription invoice
African American Historical Serials Collection
The African American Historical Serials Collection includes African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies.
allAfrica.com
Posting over 700 stories daily in English and French and offering a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as a 400.000-article searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). Fully accessible ONLY on campus.
Alt-PressWatch
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, journals of the alternative and independent press. Includes titles such as Anarcho-Syndicalist Review, Chicago Reader, Dissent, Off Our Backs, Poverty and Race.
Alternative Press Index
More than 300 alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
American Indian Newspapers
Presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and British Columbia, including Alaska, Arizona, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
American prison newspapers, 1800-2020: voices from the inside
American Prison Newspapers bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.
Ethnic NewsWatch [Current]
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
Factiva
Provides global news and business information, including the full text of the Wall Street Journal (not available in Nexis Uni). Also includes local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs.
GenderWatch
This database includes full text works from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports from 1970 to present.
Nexis Uni
An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
Nikkei Asia
Continuously updated coverage of business, markets, technology, politics, economics, and culture in East and Southeast Asia.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Sun (1837-1985), Boston Globe, Call and Post (1934-1991), Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997), Irish Times (1859-2009), Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Scotsman (1817-1950). Every page in PDF files.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provdies current articles from U.S. national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and selected regional/state newspapers. Chronological coverage of individual newspapers varies.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Descriptive summaries of the Vanderbilt University collection of network television news programs and other news-related programming collected in its archive since August 5, 1968.

Need more news? Check out other databases that contain news sources, and use the filters on the left hand side to find ones from the time and place you need. You can also search CLIO for subject (genre) = newspapers, and then add a location to narrow it down to news from a specific place.