SOCI 3750: How Race Gets Under Our Skin: The Sociology of Race, Health, and Biomedicine

Barnard Zine Library staff are collecting COVID-19 themed zines made by womxn, nonbinary people, and all members of the Barnard community. We have more than 200 zines in CLIO, some of them with download links.

The COVID-19 Global Gender Response Tracker monitors responses taken by governments worldwide to tackle the pandemic, and highlights those that have integrated a gender lens. It captures two types of government responses: women’s participation in COVID-19 task forces and national policy measures taken by governments. It analyzes which of the policy measures address women’s economic and social security, including unpaid care work, the labour market and violence against women. The Tracker can provide guidance for policymakers and evidence for advocates to ensure a gender-sensitive COVID-19 policy response.

The National League of Cities and Bloomberg Philanthropies teamed up to collect and share actions taken by local leaders of cities, towns, and villages in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The information was collected through active research and direct submissions from local leaders from February 2020 to February 2022. Data will not continue to be updated after February 2022

The COVID-19 Sex-Disaggregated Data Tracker is the world’s largest database of sex-disaggregated data on COVID-19. It is accompanied by the Sex, Gender and COVID-19 Health Policy Portal, the most comprehensive analysis of the integration of sex and gender in national COVID-19 health policies. Together, the tracker and portal provide a rich source of evidence on the equity and effectiveness of national governments pandemic responses, and provide open-access data for policy makers, researchers and advocates across the globe to utilise in pushing for more equitable, gender-responsive pandemic recoveries. The project is produced by Global Health 50/50, the African Population and Health Research Center and the International Center for Research on Women.

The UCLA Law COVID Behind Bars Data Project, launched in March 2020, tracks the spread and impact of the novel coronavirus in American carceral facilities and advocates for greater transparency and accountability around the pandemic response of the carceral system. They collect and report data on COVID-19 in prisons, jails, and immigration detention centers, as well as pandemic-related prison and jail releases, legal filings and court orders, and grassroots and community organizing efforts.

The COVID Prison Project tracks data and policy across the country to monitor COVID-19 in prisons. The site will offer analysis and resources to better understand how coronavirus is impacting people who are incarcerated. We track data from all 50 US states, Puerto Rico, the Federal Bureau of Prisons, and Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). Content will focus on data collection and analysis using a public health-oriented framework.

The COVID Racial Data Tracker is a collaboration between the COVID Tracking Project and the Boston University Center for Antiracist Research. Together, we’re gathering the most complete and up-to-date race and ethnicity data on COVID-19 in the United States. NOTE: As of March 7, 2021 they are no longer collecting new data.

The COVID Tracking Project is a volunteer organization launched from The Atlantic. Every day, they collect data on COVID-19 testing and patient outcomes from all 50 states, 5 territories, and the District of Columbia. The dataset is currently in use by national and local news organizations across the United States and by research projects and agencies worldwide. NOTE: The Project is ending in early March, 2021.

Topic page for the Gallup public opinion polls about the pandemic.

"No single agency has provided the public with an accurate, up-to-date record of coronavirus cases, tracked to the county level. To fill the gap, The New York Times has launched a round-the-clock effort to tally every known coronavirus case in the United States. The data, which The Times will continue to track, is being made available to the public...."

Landing page for the reports and statistics created by Pew Research Center about the pandemic.

Understanding America Study's Understanding Coronavirus in America (“Covid”) is a survey of attitudes and behaviors around the Novel Coronavirus pandemic in the United States. The survey was launched on March 10, and includes a national long-form questionnaire and a Los Angeles County short-form questionnaire. Survey waves were administered bi-weekly (national) and weekly (LA County) from April 1 through February 16. Beginning February 17, waves are administered monthly (national) and bi-weekly (LA County).

From HeinOnline. Compiling together publications on the various ways COVID-19 has impacted every aspect of life, from testing issues, to stimulus payments, to the quest for a vaccine, this database organizes content on COVID-19 into the following areas of focus: Economic Impact, Global Impact, Health Care Impact, and Societal Impact, with an expanding selection of scholarly articles and links to take your learning beyond HeinOnline. Importantly, this collection also features a subcollection dedicated to Past Pandemics, allowing researchers access to ways the federal government has responded to medical disasters of the past and how these previous pandemics inform today’s response. This database, much like our understanding of COVID-19, will continue to evolve over the coming months and years as new content is published and integrated with regular updates.

Documenting COVID-19 is a repository of searchable documents related to the COVID-19 pandemic obtained through state open-records laws and the Freedom of Information Act. Click on a state for details about the 216 record sets available and news coverage that have used those materials.

This policy tracker summarizes the key economic responses governments are taking to limit the human and economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic. The tracker includes 197 economies.

The OECD is compiling data, analysis and recommendations on a range of topics to address the emerging health, economic and societal crisis, facilitate co-ordination, and contribute to the necessary global action when confronting this enormous collective challenge. This new series brings together policy responses spanning a large range of topics, from health to education and taxes, providing guidance on the short-term measures needed in affected sectors and a specific focus on the vulnerable sectors of society and the economy. Beyond immediate responses, the content aims to provide analysis on the longer-term consequences and impacts, paving the way to recovery with co-ordinated policy responses across countries.

The Oxford Supertracker is a global directory of over several hundred policy trackers and surveys related to COVID-19. This novel collection is designed to assist researchers and policy-makers in keeping track of a rapidly growing number of data sources. You can search and identify relevant information resources, such as datasets, surveys, and systematic collections, across different areas, countries and data types.

From Our World in Data, this site offers international interactive chart maps from the Oxford COVID-19 Government Response Tracker (OxCGRT).

The Sex, Gender and COVID-19 Health Policy Portal offers the most comprehensive review of the recognition of and response to sex and gender in national COVID-19 public health policies globally. Launched in the context of mounting calls for governments to adopt gender-responsive approaches to the pandemic, the Policy Portal finds little evidence that sex and gender have been considered in policies that directly impact people’s health outcomes. The Sex, Gender and COVID-19 Health Policy Portal collates and reviews over 450 policies and policy excerpts from 76 countries across all WHO regions and World Bank income groups. Policies are collected under six key areas derived from the WHO pandemic response recommendations: vaccination, public health messaging, clinical management, protection of healthcare workers, disease surveillance, and maintenance of essential health services. All policies have been collected from official Government sources. The policies were examined using the WHO gender-responsiveness assessment scale to understand whether and how they respond to gender inequalities, as well as which populations they target (men, women, transgender people and non-binary people) and whether human rights and equity are considered.

As part of the American Sociological Associations's (ASA) efforts to respond to the COVID-19 outbreak, they partnered with journal editors to identify existing articles in ASA journals that could be of use to those trying to develop responses to, and cope with, the enormous disruptions this pandemic has produced. The articles below are freely available to all users. Click on the category links to see relevant articles.

Original tweet by Kevin Nadal, Professor of Psychology at both John Jay College of Criminal Justice and Graduate Center at the City University of New York, with replies/links to relevant pieces. "Hey #AcademicTwitter, since #Coronavirus is making many of us teach online, I’m hoping we create a working syllabus to talk about implications of race, class, gender, xenophobia, and other social justice issues related to #COVID19. Can you all share some links below?"

As we collectively deal with the implications of social distancing, stay-at-home orders, and a global pandemic, questions of care and self-care have become ever more important. These books, issues, and articles investigate different ways that care can bind together individuals and communities where larger institutions or governments fail to intervene. They show how radical care is essential to enduring precarity and to laying the groundwork for new futures.

The articles, special sections, and special issues collected in this syllabus represent some early attempts to conceptualize how the COVID-19 pandemic has affected the discourse in the humanities and social sciences in 2021. Articles are freely available through December 31, 2021.

This syllabus compiles readings related to COVID-19 and incarceration. CCWP is a grassroots social justice organization, with members inside and outside prison, that challenges the institutional violence imposed on women, transgender people, and communities of color by the prison industrial complex (PIC).

Regularly updated lists of readings in multiple languages.

This is a special series from Somatosphere. Somatosphere is a collaborative website covering the intersections of medical anthropology, science and technology studies, cultural psychiatry, psychology and bioethics. Founded in 2008 by a small group of medical anthropologists, Somatosphere has grown to become a key online forum for debate and discussion in medical anthropology, as well as in the humanities and social sciences of health and medicine more broadly.

From Duke University Press. Listed books are free to read online until June 1, 2020, and journal articles are free until October 1.

From Social Science Space: A space to explore, share and shape the issues facing social and behavioral scientists

Crowd-sourced resources compiled by Jason Oliver Chang (twitter @chinotronic), Associate Professor of History and Asian American Studies at the University of Connecticut.