LibGuides: ECHS 3067: Research Seminar in Economic History II: Citing and Writing

Annotated bibliographies

Annotated Bibliographies - UNC Writing Center
This explains why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provides an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describes various types of annotations and styles for writing them, and offers multiple examples of annotated bibliographies in the MLA, APA, and CBE/CSE styles of citation.
Annotated bibliography sample - Chicago Manual of Style
Annotated bibliography samples - Purdue OWL
Scroll down to find the example using Chicago Style.

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Chicago Manual of Style:

The Quick Guide will help get you started with basic publication types.
You can find the full-text of the style guide in print or online.
The American Economic Review (AER) gives sample references for item types not found in the Chicago style guide, including how to cite datasets.

Here are some other citation resources:

Citation Management
This is a Barnard Library guide to tools to help manage citations and build bibliographies, including Zotero, EndNote, and Mendeley.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL)
OWL has lots of general and subject-specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
Guidance on Data Citations
Guidance for authors wishing to create data and code supplements, and for replicators, from Social Science Data Editors
Quick Guide to Data Citation
This is a handy resource from the International Association for Social Science Information Services Technology (IASSIST).

The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth; Gregory G. Colomb; Joseph M. Williams; Joseph Bizup; William T. FitzGerald
ISBN: 9780226239569
Publication Date: 2016-10-19
This is a great book to refer to at any stage in the research process.

Research log
Try using a research log to keep track of what you've searched and what you want to try next. You can copy this to your Google Drive and adjust it to suit your needs.

SAGE Research Methods Core
SAGE Research Methods provides a comprehensive picture of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. It includes more than 100,000 pages of SAGE book and reference material on research methods as well as selected material from SAGE journals.

Thesis Process Guide (CEP)
This guide is meant to help seniors and rising juniors of any major through any stage of the thesis-writing process. Kate Barrett BC '20 shares tips for cultivating a successful and organized thesis throughout a semester or a year, from the initial generation of a topic to the final bibliography. Additionally, this guide provides insight into time management skills, research tools, and stress management strategies for alleviating stress and increasing clarity around the project.