This guide has a selection of key resources for doing research on New York City Parks. In this guide you will find the following:
Other Useful Guides:
You can book and appointment with me by using the "Book Now" button in my profile box on the left or go to https://mwisner.youcanbook.me/.
Image: The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Photography Collection, The New York Public Library. "Outdoor Life and Sport in Central Park, N.Y." New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed September 23, 2019.
As the world's largest encyclopedia, Wikipedia's coverage is vast. You are more likely to find articles on obscure topics in Wikipedia than you would anywhere else. But is it accurate? While Wikipedia can be edited by anyone in the world (including you!), scholarly encyclopedias like Encyclopedia Britannica are written and edited by experts in their fields. However, a 2005 study in the journal Nature weighed the accuracy of science articles on Wikipedia against the more scholarly (though not peer-reviewed) Encyclopedia Britannica, Wikipedia was found to be nearly as accurate in the 42 articles investigated. Encyclopedia Britannica refuted these claims. When using Wikipedia, or any encyclopedia for that matter, it is wise to verify what you find.
Check the citations, recommended resources and external links to guide you to more scholarly work.
Similar to Wikipedia, these resources provide an overview on a given topic, but the authors are experts in the fields they are covering. Below you will find a few general encyclopedia collections with coverage across a wide variety of fields.
[image] Suze Meyers, Feminist Wikipedia, 2016.
The following are a list of scholarly encyclopedias that cover more specific topics. Many of these are actually found within the general encyclopedia listed above. These can be useful when getting a sense of the kinds of conversations happening on a given topic.