LibGuides: ARCH 3120: City, Landscapes and Ecology: Getting Started

Using this Guide

Olafur Eliasson, Double Sunset,1999. Installation. Utrecht. Artstor. https://library.artstor.org/#/asset/ARTSTOR_103_41822003761291.

Welcome to the research guide for City, Landscape and Ecology

Here you will find resources to help you with your architecture research. Use the side navigation to find:

Resources to find background information on your topic (below)
Places to find books in print and online
Databases for locating scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles, reviews, and newspaper articles
Suggested environmental justice online mapping tools
Sources for finding high-quality images
Resources for citing your sources and writing in architecture

You can book and appointment with Meredith by using the "Schedule Appointment" buttons on our profile boxes or email at mwisner@barnard.edu.

Reference Resources for Architecture

Arch Daily
An online database of architectural projects and images.
Dynamic National Archive
A searchable database documenting the work of women architects and designers who have contributed to the places and spaces of the United States.

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
SAH Archipedia
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press. It contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 14,000 structures and places. Though primarily a building database, you will also find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more.

Search Tips

Boolean searching is based on an algebraic system of logic formulated by George Boole, a 19th century English mathematician.

In a Boolean keyword search, the terms are combined by the operators AND, OR and NOT to narrow or broaden the search (in CLIO, Ovid, and some other databases, you DO have to enter them in capitals). This type of search is possible in most library catalogs and databases, but Google and other Web search engines do not carry out OR and NOT searches properly.

These Venn diagrams help to visualize the meaning of AND, OR and NOT; the colored area indicates the items that will be retrieved in each case.

AND

The operator AND narrows the search by instructing the search engine to search for all the records containing the first keyword, then for all the records containing the second keyword, and show only those records that contain both.

OR

The operator OR broadens the search to include records containing either keyword, or both.
The OR search is particularly useful when there are several common synonyms for a concept, or variant spellings of a word.

Examples using OR:
medieval OR "middle ages"
"heart attack" OR "myocardial infarction"
vergil OR virgil

NOT

Combining search terms with the NOT operator narrows the search by excluding unwanted terms.

Examples using combinations of the three operators:
puritans AND women AND (massachusetts OR connecticut OR "rhode island" OR "new hampshire")
(adolescen* OR teen*) AND (cigarettes OR smok*)
reagan AND "star wars" NOT (movie OR film OR cinema OR "motion picture")
"zora neale hurston" AND (correspondence OR letter* OR diar* OR autobiograph* OR memoir*)