LibGuides: ARCH 3901: Architecture’s Global Territories: Getting Started

Using this Guide

Detail: Joseph. “Little Senegal.” Digital Photograph, 2011. Flickr. https://flic.kr/p/axQSiT.

Research Guide for Architecture’s Global Territories

Here you will find resources to help you with your research. Use the side navigation to find:

Background information on your topic (this page)
Places to find books in print and online
Databases for locating scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles, reviews, and newspaper articles
Sources for finding high quality images
Resources for citing your sources and writing in architecture

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, you can make an appointment by clicking on the "Schedule Appointment" button on my profile box, or email me at mwisner@barnard.edu.

Best bets for architectural research:

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
ARTstor
Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

Reference Resources for Architecture

Arch Daily
An online database of architectural projects and images.
Dynamic National Archive
A searchable database documenting the work of women architects and designers who have contributed to the places and spaces of the United States.

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
SAH Archipedia
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press. It contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 14,000 structures and places. Though primarily a building database, you will also find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more.

Background information

Consult scholarly reference sources to get an overview of a topic, an introduction to a theory, definitions to discipline-specific terms, and more.

Encyclopedia of American Urban History by David R. Goldfield (Editor)
ISBN: 0761928847
Publication Date: 2006-12-07
The Encyclopedia of Housing, Second Edition by Andrew T. Carswell (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412989572
Publication Date: 2012-06-13
The Encyclopedia of New York City by Kenneth T. Jackson (Editor); Nancy Flood (Editor); Lisa Keller (Editor)
ISBN: 9780300114652
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Encyclopedia of Urban Studies by Ray Hutchison (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412914321
Publication Date: 2009-11-13
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Urban and Regional Studies by Anthony M. Orum
ISBN: 9781118568453
Publication Date: 2019-04-15

ARCH 3901: Architecture’s Global Territories

Research Librarian

Video: Boolean Operators