Finding Scientific Literature, including Articles, Conference Papers, and Preprints
- JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments
The world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal.
- PubMed
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
- SciFinder (to register, use this link: columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?clio6702921.999)
Provides access to the Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) databases of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, to CASREACT, to the Registry database from CAS, and to Medline.
- Scopus
Excellent source for citation searching or finding original articles in chemistry.
- Web of Science
Scholarly articles in all disciplines, including chemistry. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify, and for various kinds of citation analysis.
- Google Scholar
Pros:
- You can copy and paste the title of an article and quickly get to the full text.
- You can enable e-Link so that you can access the Columbia subscriptions to full-text materials, even when you're off-campus (go to Settings - Library links).
- You can import directly into EndNote.
Cons:
- No added metadata (e.g., subject headings) so it can be hard to tell what an article is about.
- You have to search full text or allintitle:
- You can only sort by relevance or date.
Other Useful Websites and Reference Sources
- ChemDraw/ChemBioDraw
A chemical and biological drawing suite containing advanced prediction tools and full Web integration.
- CHEMLIBnetBASE
A collection of reference works in chemistry.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics online
A popular ready reference source for chemical and physical data.
- Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry
Covers all fields of chemical research - analytical, organic, physical, polymer, inorganic biomedical, environmental, pharmaceutical, industrial, petroleum, forensics, and food science.
- FDA Laboratory Methods
Compendium of analytical laboratory methods for food and feed safety.
- Index to EPA Test Methods
List of procedures approved by the Environmental Protection Agency.
- NEMI
The National Environment Methods Index is a searchable database of environmental methods, protocols, statistical and analytical methods.
- NIOSH Manual of Analytical Methods (NMAM)
A collection of methods approved by the the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH).
- PubChem
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information.
- Reaxys
Find substances, reactions, citations, patents, and more from the Beilstein Database, the Gmelin Database, and the Patent Chemistry Database.
- TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network
The National Library of Medicine portal to databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Finding Books
Citing Your Sources
