LibGuides: Comparative Literature: Articles

Strategies for Finding Articles

From a Citation

If you are trying to locate a specific article starting from a citation (ideally, one with the article's title, author(s), place of publication and date of publication), there are a few different ways you might go about your search:

Use CLIO Articles Search to search for the article by title. If the library's subscriptions give access to the article in full text, you should see a link that will lead you to the article.
If the CLIO Articles Search does not lead you to the article, try the CLIO Catalog Search to search for the library's holdings of the periodical in which the article is published. This search will show you both print and digital holdings of journals, magazines, and other serials in which articles are published.
If neither of the above searches leads you to the article you are looking for, try requesting a digital scan of the article using Interlibrary Loan. Make sure that you indicate the title, author, and inclusive page numbers you'll need (Note: You can also request book chapter scans using ILL).

From a Topic/ Question/ Keywords

If you are looking for articles in conversation with a specific topic:

Try CLIO Articles for a really broad/ general search.
Use a database (see below for many relevant examples) to hone in your search within a specific body of literature and/or specific area of publishing.

Finding Articles: Specialized Databases

Africa-Wide Information
combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies.
Bibliografía de la Literatura Española
Comprehensive bibliography of all documentation related to Literature in Spanish published in any language. It covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congress proceedings, and other miscellaneous material. Founded and created by M. del Carmen Simón Palmer.
Bibliografia generale della lingua e della letteratura italiana
Searchable online database of bibliographic information on Italian language and literature, including editions of texts, critical and historical studies, philological-linguistic notes, essays, monographs, reviews and bibliographic reviews, and various other materials.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
This online version of the Bibliography of Asian studies (BAS) contains more than 850,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published 1971 to the present. It contains the full data of all printed editions of the BAS issued from 1971 up to the 1991 ed. (published 1997), as well as thousands of entries published since.
Black Studies Center
"A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975."
Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson)
Book Review Digest Plus brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources, including academic ones.
Cairn.info
provides searchable full-text access to journals, magazines, books, reference sources, and reports in the humanities and social sciences---all sources in French. Subject areas covered include economics, law, history and geography, literature and linguistics, psychology, education, political science, sociology, and sport.
China Academic Journals
Full-text electronic versions of Chinese academic periodicals in literature/history/philosophy, economics/politics/law, and education/social science. The database includes current issues as well as archives of back issues of journals, and is reproduced with original pagination.
Érudit
provides access to Francophone and Canadian peer-reviewed journal articles, books, thesis papers, and conference proceedings in the social sciences and humanities.
Factiva
Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including Wall Street Journal, local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) online
Citations to articles and book reviews in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean and Hispanic Americans. Subject focus excludes pure and technical sciences. Links to full-text are available for selected journals.
Liberation Journals Index
Provides citations from Francophone pan-African periodicals connected with liberation movements of the early and mid-twentieth century. Among those included: La Revue du Monde Noir, Légitime Défense, L’Étudiant Noir, Tropiques, and Présence Africaine. Tip: To access articles in full text, use the Interlibrary Loan article request form.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
This database indexes articles and other sources of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Pascal and Francis archive
Free Access to Pascal and Francis is an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases, produced by the Inist-CNRS between 1972 and 2015 and accessible with a server subscription until 2016. Eventually, the Francis and Pascal databases will bring together close to 23 million bibliographic references: FRANCIS covers strongly 15 keys disciplines in human and social sciences (HSS) with 2,6 million bibliographic references since 1972; PASCAL, for its part, gathers 20 million bibliographic references in the Sciences Technology and Medicine (STM) field since 1973.
PERSEE - Portail de revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales
covers back issues of selected French journals and conference proceedings in the humanities and social sciences. Articles are searchable and available in full text.
Torrossa: Casalini Full Text Platform
Online resource offering full text access to Italian and Spanish books, conference proceedings, and journals by major Italian and Spanish publishers.

Finding Articles: Databases with a Broad/General Scope

EBSCOhost research databases
Allows you to search simultaneously across more than one hundred databases in a variety of fields. Includes key databases in Art, Architecture, Business, History, Education, Psychology, Religion, Social Sciences, and Science.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
ProQuest Research Library
Provides citations and full text sources from a range of academic and professional disciplines, among them : economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search all databases at once or select several or one. Also includes major current and historical US newspapers .