LibGuides: CSER 3919: Modes of Inquiry: Primary Sources: Government Information

Selected Government Document Databases

HeinOnline
Hein Online contains the full text of numerous legal journals, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, Foreign Relations of the U.S., Presidential Executive Orders, Congressional Record, U.S. Statutes at Large, and other documents from the executive, congressional and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
Nexis Uni
An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. To search on transcripts of broadcasts, select News on the home page, perform your search, and then narrow to News Transcripts on the left under Publication Type.
ProQuest Congressional
Indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports, 1916-present; full text of Congressional hearings, 1824-2003; full text of Committee Prints, 1830-2003; and full text of the Serial Set Collection with Maps, 1789-1969. For a complete description of contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the online Help section.

U.S. Government Documents at Columbia

From the U.S. Government Documents at Columbia University Libraries: Columbia University has been a U.S. Federal government depository since 1882. CLIO has records for print and electronic government information. Use these links to search CLIO with government filters applied:

For example, try this search for the United States Sentencing Commission guidelines manual.

See also Columbia University Library's extensive research guides on government documents:

United States - Federal

United States - State & Local

One more way to search census information is to use the Library's Ancestry subscription:

AncestryLibrary.com
Ancestry Library is a searchable database that includes digitized images of the United States Federal Census from 1790 forward, as well as records of births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and military service. It also includes court, land, and probate records; prison records; voter lists; obituaries; passenger lists and other immigration data; U.S. telephone directories; United Kingdom and United States Directories (1680-1830); as well as digitized yearbooks, photos, maps, and more.