ECHS 3066: Research Seminar in Economic History

Hein Online contains the full text of numerous legal journals, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, Foreign Relations of the U.S., Presidential Executive Orders, Congressional Record, U.S. Statutes at Large, and other documents from the executive, congressional and judicial branches of the U.S. government.

Indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports, 1916-present; full text of Congressional hearings, 1824-2003; full text of Committee Prints, 1830-2003; and full text of the Serial Set Collection with Maps, 1789-1969. For a complete description of contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the online Help section.

Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Concentrates on five main subject areas: radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II, providing a view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History in Duke University's Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.

With content spanning the 1900s to the early 2000s, Southern African Films and Documentaries offers--for the first time--streaming access to more than a century of African history, politics, and culture. Five film types are represented-- propaganda, newsreels, documentaries, feature films, and interviews. The content supports teaching and research in African studies, film and cinema, history and world culture, race and ethnicity, women's studies, and other areas.

Contains pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, photographs, and in-depth oral histories focusing on African American culture, social conditions, and identity in Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina. Time periods covered range from 1863 to 1986.

This portal combines three complementary sets of primary source material that explore the history of American consumer culture in the twentieth century via three key themes: research into consumer motivation, the advertising process and the products themselves. Market Research presents reports produced by Ernest Dichter that attempt to reveal consumers' innermost desires and motivations; J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America presents how advertising is produced and how it interacts with consumer culture through the archive and workings of one of the world's oldest and largest advertising agencies; Trade Catalogues and the American Home presents domestic life and material culture by detailing the products sold in the domestic sphere.

American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release includes over 1260 titles, equaling approximately 420 hours

Ancestry Library is a searchable database that includes digitized images of the United States Federal Census from 1790 forward, as well as records of births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and military service. It also includes court, land, and probate records; prison records; voter lists; obituaries; passenger lists and other immigration data; U.S. telephone directories; United Kingdom and United States Directories (1680-1830); as well as digitized yearbooks, photos, maps, and more.

Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1994. These previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists' biographies and first-hand accounts of events give access to the history of South Africa's apartheid regime. The files explore the relationship of the international community with South Africa and chart increasing civil unrest against a backdrop of waning colonialism in Africa and mounting world condemnation.

This collection comprises the National Negro Business League files in Part III of the Booker T. Washington Papers in the possession of the Library of Congress. Booker T. Washington, founder of the National Negro Business League, believed that solutions to the problem of racial discrimination were primarily economic, and that bringing African Americans into the middle class was the key. In 1900 he established the League "to promote the commercial and financial development of the Negro" and headed it until his death.

This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature, the daily lives of women and men, and contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Provides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search multiple Gale collections, including Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality & Gender, Associated Press Collections Online, Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture, British Library Newspapers, the Indigenous Peoples: North America database, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of Modern Law, U.S. Declassified Documents Online, U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978, and the Women's Studies Archive.

Covers years 1543-1945, bulk is 1880-1920, with monographs and serials from the U.S., the U.K., Canada, New Zealand, and continental Europe. The collection is especially rich in women's journals, scholarly medical and sociological studies, and housekeeping and advice manuals.

This is a digital preservation repository and access platform for many of the United States' great research libraries, bringing together the immense collections of partner institutions. Provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources.

This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life -- as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. The content in HLA is sourced from more than 17,000 American and global news sources, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications. [The database covers] from the early 18th century to the early 21st -- from the early Spanish settlements to the modern era. HLA covers many topical categories such as arts and entertainment, civil rights and activism, immigration and citizenship, sports and athletes, labor, religion, science and technology, and society and culture.

Access corporate annual reports for selected U.S. companies from 1884 to the present. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, industry or date.

MOMW had its origins in the systematic building of collections of works of "economic literature." Provides access to extensive collections for research into the history of the dynamics of Western trade, including the Industrial Revolution in Great Britain, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. Also offers deep resources in the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy. Includes texts published 1450 to 1945.

Previously unpublished letters and diaries of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th century. The women wrote from the many places throughout the U.S. in which they lived, traveled, worked, studied, and observed the lives and historical events around them--including John Brown's raid; the activities of the Ku Klux Klan; numerous wars; experiences in a Colorado mining camp, through Nancy Colburn Hartford's log of her time there; frontier conditions in Florida in 1830, as lived and described by Julia Ann Draper Lazelle; World War I Army training camps and the American Expeditionary Forces in France, through Lizzie Bliss Dewey's correspondence with friends in service; charitable work in the South, documented by the Chase sisters' writings of their experiences.

A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries (NAWLD) includes the immediate experiences of 107 women, as revealed in more than 9,000 pages of iaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. When complete, the collection will include more than 150,000 pages of primary material spanning more than 300 years.

This is a landmark index to English language oral histories. Working with archives, repositories and individuals we've indexed oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. The intent is to make it possible to find and explore the voices of more than 300,000 individuals.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Includes over 6 million pages from 29,000 works.

Database of English language letters, diaries, autobiographies, oral histories, and other personal narratives providing insight into history dating from the 1550s to the present. Documents included in the index and ful-text collections are indexed for subjects, historical events, personal events, places, and dates.