LibGuides: Environmental Science: Articles

Finding Articles

Articles, essays, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc., can be found in databases subscribed to by Columbia University Libraries (CUL). Barnard affiliates can access all the CUL resources, which includes over 1600 databases.

The best way to access a database is via CLIO. Each database has a special URL assigned by CUL, and you need to access the database using that URL in order to be able to read the full text articles that CUL subscribes to. (For example, the URL to use for Proquest is http://www.columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?clio8557099, not proquest.com).
If you're searching for an article in a journal that CUL doesn't subscribe to, request the article via the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
For more tips, see the Database Searching Guide (from CUL)

Earth and Environmental Sciences Research Guide: Databases & Indexes by Subject
From Columbia Libraries, the full list of available databases in Environmental Sciences

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good place to start, but it has limitations.

Because it's a full-text search, it can be hard to narrow down to the precise topic you're interested in.
You can narrow your search by specifying that your keywords are in the title, by using the advanced search or by putting allintitle: in front of the keywords.
Go to Settings and enable "Library Links" for Columbia University; this will make the Columbia e-Link show up in the results list so that you can easily go to the full text.

Top Databases for Scholarly Literature, including Articles, Conference Papers, etc.

ScienceDirect
Contains articles, reviews, book chapters, and more in scientific, technical, social science, humanities, and medical fields. Contents include abstracts, tables of contents, full text articles, and data-sets.
BIOSIS citation index
Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It covers original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, and microbiology, and related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology, and interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. Available with up to 18 million records to 1926.
BioOne
Collection of the full texts of various research journals focused on the biological, biomedical, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
The Agricultural & Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content along with expert indexing of global literature across these fields and related disciplines. Students, researchers, teachers, and professionals benefit from the precision and comprehensive discovery the database provides through peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, magazines, and grey literature as well as working papers, conference papers and proceedings. The database provides a unique solution for agricultural research and allied disciplines including: agricultural economics; animal and veterinary sciences; aquaculture and fisheries; farming and farming systems; food and human nutrition; forestry; and plant sciences. Users can expect full-text articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA
Environment Complete
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more
Earth, atmospheric & aquatic science database
he Earth, atmospheric & aquatic science database includes the renowned Aquatic sciences and fisheries abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic abstracts, and Meteorological & geoastrophysical abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth's air, land, and water environments.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Scopus
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to records from the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research most relevant to the area of interest. Using linked cited references, subject connections between articles that are established by the expert researchers can be explored.