LibGuides: ENGL 3923: Shakespeare, Race, and Appropriation: Getting Started

About This Guide

In this guide, you'll find resources to help you with your research for Shakespeare and Race.

Resources to research background and contextual information on your topic and the approaches you might be bringing to your research (see links below)
Places to find books in print and online
Databases for locating articles, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles
Approaches to finding primary sources
Resources for citing your sources and writing in Africana Studies
Guidelines for getting required course texts for free via the Library

Please feel free to book an appointment with me on my calendar page, for further support with your research.

Image: Joseph, Shehal (2015). Pyramus and Thisby (adaptation of A Midsummer Night's Dream in Colombo, Sri Lanka). Devised and Choreographed by Jehan Aloysius and presented by CentreStage Productions photograph. Via Flickr. CC BY-2.0.

Clio and Stacks Activity

Reference Sources

Critical Race Theory: An Introduction by Richard Delgado; Jean Stefancic
ISBN: 0585434697
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
The Definitive Shakespeare Companion by Joseph Rosenblum (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440834448
Publication Date: 2017-06-22
This expansive four-volume work gives detailed explanations of Shakespeare's plays and poems and also covers his age, life, theater, texts, and language. Numerous excerpts from primary source historical documents contextualize his works, while reviews of productions chronicle his performance history and reception.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Angela Doolin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028661742
Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Native Studies Keywords by Stephanie Nohelani Teves (Editor); Andrea Smith (Editor); Michelle Raheja (Editor)
ISBN: 9780816531509
Publication Date: 2015-05-21
This is an edited volume that provides definitions, meanings, and significances of select key concepts often used in Native studies. These concepts include: sovereignty, land, indigeneity, nations, blood, tradition, colonialism, and indigenous epistemologies/knowledges. The manuscript is divided into eight sections, and each section includes three or four essays about one of the concepts. The essays provide an historical, social, and political context for the concepts and indicate how they have been drawn upon by scholars of Native studies.
Oxford African American Studies Center by by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. (editor)
Publication Date: updated three times a year
The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare by Michael Dobson (Editor); Stanley Wells (Editor); Will Sharpe (Editor); Erin Sullivan (Editor)
ISBN: 9780198708735
Publication Date: 2015
Alphabetically listed entries on Shakespeare's life, times, works, and legacy, along with a partial chronology.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195156003
Publication Date: 2005-08-25

Oxford English dictionary online (OED)
is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from Dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals.