Herzlich Willkommen auf unserer Website für Germanistik! This guide supports German language & literature learning at Barnard College.
Other helpful resources include:
Concise Oxford-Duden German Dictionary by 
Das Grosse Woerterbuch der Deutschen Sprache
The Oxford Companion to German Literature by
Designed to be a reliable source of information on the whole sweep of literature from German-speaking countries from the eighth century onwards, the Companion now comes right up to the mid-1990s, including recent works such as Gunter Grass's controversial novel about the unification of East and West Germany, Ein weites Feld (1995). The entries, arranged in a single alphabetical sequence, cover authors and their major works, as well as historical, intellectual, and cultural backgrounds. For this new edition much of the original material has been thoroughly reworked in the light of up-to-date scholarship, and many completely new entries have been added, allowing improved coverage of the twentieth century, general topics, and women writers of all periods. The Companion's unrivalled historical coverage and depth of information - on subjects as various as Kafka and Kleist, Werther and Christa Wolf, Nietzsche and the Nibelungenlied, Jung and Jelinek, Rilke and Die Reformation - makes it an indispensable reference book for everyone with an interest in the literature and literary culture of the German-speaking world.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture by
With more than 1,100 entries written by an international group of over 150 contributors, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture brings together myriad strands of social, political and cultural life in the post-1945 German-speaking world. With a unique structure and format, an inclusive treatment of the concept of culture, and coverage of East, West and post-unification Germany, as well as Austria and Switzerland, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture is the first reference work of its kind
The Cambridge History of German Literature by
This is the first book to provide a complete German literary history up to the Unification of Germany in 1990. It is a history for our times: well-known authors and movements are set in a wider literary, cultural and political context, standard judgments are reexamined where appropriate, and a new prominence is given to writing by women. The book is designed for the general reader as well as the advanced student; titles and quotations are translated, and there is an extensive bibliography.
The Cambridge Companion to the Modern German Novel by
Theodor Fontane, Hermann Hesse, Thomas Mann, Franz Kafka, and Gunther Grass are among the writers examined in this comprehensive introduction to the development of the German novel in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Including a chronology and guide to further reading, the Companion conveys the vitality and complexity of the modern German novel, and the debates surrounding it.
Historical Dictionary of German Literature to 1945 by
Historical Dictionary of German Literature to 1945 covers a wide swath of literary analysis and achievement, from Old High German lays and ecclesiastical encomia to Middle High German epics, sagas, and love lyrics. While extensive in its chronological dimension, the Historical Dictionary of German Literature to 1945 is equally comprehensive in the geographical and genre areas it covers. The history of this period in German literature is told through a detailed chronology, an introductory essay, a comprehensive bibliography, and over 200 cross-referenced dictionary entries on poetry, novels, historical narrative, philosophical musings, and drama.
Historical Dictionary of German Theater by
The German-language theater is one of the most vibrant and generously endowed of any in the world. It boasts long and honored traditions that include world-renowned plays, playwrights, actors, directors, and designers, and several German theater artists have had an enormous impact on theater practice around the globe. Students continue to study German plays in dozens of languages, and every year scores of German plays are produced in a wide variety of non-German venues. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of German Theater covers its history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on directors, designers, producers, and movements such as Regietheater, post-dramatic approaches to theater production, the freie Szene of independent, non-subsidized groups, the role of increasingly massive government subsidies, and cities whose reputations as centers of innovation and excellence that have made the German-language theater one of the most vibrant anywhere on earth. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about German Theater."
