CLIO is the online catalog to Columbia University Libraries. CLIO contains over 7 million records for books, online resources, journals & newspapers, conference proceedings, sound recordings & scores, videos, archival collections & oral history transcripts, online databases, maps & images, and more!
CLIO Search Tips:
Use the Catalog search to find books, journal and newspaper titles, media materials, musical scores, archival collections and databases (but not articles within databases). You can also find maps and atlases.
Article Search allows you to search articles indexed in all of Columbia's databases
Search for specific e-journal titles using the E-journal Title search
Use the link to Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan when the book or media item is checked out.
Catalog search tips:
|Articles/book chapter scans (.pdf)||●|
|Non-book loans (DVDs, microfilm, dissertations, maps, etc.)||●||●|
|Delivery in 3-5 business days||●|
|16-week loan period||●|
|Subject to recall by lender||●||●|
|International loans and articles||●|
|Loans from a library other than the Borrow Direct partners (including public, law, medical, special collections, etc.)||●|
Here are some sample scenarios that might help you decide which service to use.
I need to borrow a book that is checked out at Columbia. It is for a class assignment due in two weeks.
When speed is the issue for a loan, try Borrow Direct first. If the book is unavailable through Borrow Direct, try ILL. Keep in mind that ILL loans generally arrive within two weeks, which may be too late for your assignment. Adjust the "Not Wanted After Date" on the ILL form to reflect your actual deadline.
I need to borrow a multi-volume set or one volume from a multi-volume set.
Although both services can accommodate multiple-volume-set requests, Borrow Direct is the better choice for ordering several volumes at once. Indicate in the "Notes" field which volumes you need. Typically, partner libraries will send no more than 5 volumes at a time of larger sets. Please contact Borrow Direct staff if you need assistance (email@example.com).
I tried to place a Borrow Direct request for a book that Columbia does not own. Even though I find the book through a Borrow Direct catalog search, the system will not let me place a request. What are my options?
Place an ILL request for the item if it is unavailable in Borrow Direct.
I need to borrow a book for the semester. I know that a Borrow Direct library owns it. Should I use Borrow Direct or ILL?
Use Borrow Direct because the standardized loan period is 16 weeks, no renewals. ILL does offer a renewal option but both the loan period and ability to renew are at the lender's discretion. All loans are subject to recall.
Topics in the history discipline frequently, though not always, fall into the following classifications in the Library of Congress classification system. You can go to the library stacks and browse the shelves for books with call numbers beginning:
CB - History of Civilization
D - World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.
E-F - History of the Americas
HC - Economic History and Conditions
HD - Industries. Land use. Labor.
HN - Social History and Conditions. Social Problems. Social Reform.
HQ - The Family. Marriage. Women.
HT - Communities. Classes. Races.
HX - Socialism. Communism. Anarchism.
JV - Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International Migration.
JZ - International Relations