Medieval & Renaissance Studies

CLIO Catalog

CLIO is the online catalog to Columbia University Libraries (including Barnard), but excluding Teacher's College and the Law Library who maintain their own catalogs. CLIO contains over 7 million records for books, online resources, journals & newspapers, conference proceedings, sound recordings & scores, videos, archival collections & oral history transcripts, online databases, maps & images, and more!

CLIO Search Tips:

• Use the Catalog Search to find books, journal and newspaper titles, media materials, musical scores, archival collections and databases (but not articles within databases). You can also find maps and atlases.
• Article Search allows you to search articles indexed in all of Columbia's databases
• Search for specific e-journal titles using the E-journal Title search
• Use the link to Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan when the book or media item is checked out.

General Collections

Both the Barnard Library in the Milstein Center for Teaching & Learning, and the Milstein Undergraduate Library in Butler contain collections on classics and ancient studies intended for undergraduate use. Use the call numbers located lower on this page to browse books in these areas.
 

Special Collections

• Butler also contains two specialized reading rooms, with non-circulating books, one on Ancient & Medieval Studies (room 603), and one on Papyrology & Epigraphy (room 604).
• Burke Library at Union Theological Seminary may also have helpful works pertaining to the study of classics where they intersect the study of Religion.
• For art, architecture, and art history, the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library at Columbia will be of use.

Since Medieval & Renaissance Studies is an interdisciplinary field, there's no one call number range that encompasses the area. Helpful call numbers in the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system may include:

Language & Literature

• Medieval
  • P901 - P1091: Extinct or Medieval Languages
  • PA8001 - PA8595: Medieval and modern Latin Literature
  • PN661 - PN694: Medieval Literary History
  • PN2152 - PN2160: Medieval Theatre
  • PQ151 - PQ221: Medieval French Literature, History and Criticism
  • PQ1300 - PQ1595: Old French Literature, Collections and Individual Authors to 1525
  • PQ4064 - PQ4075: Italian Literature, History and Criticism, Early works to 1500
  • PQ5265 - PQ4556: Italian Literature, individual authors to 1400
  • PQ6058 - PQ6060: Medieval Spanish Literature, History & Criticism
  • PQ6271 - PQ6498: Spanish Literature, Individual authors and works to 1700
  • PR251 - PR269: Medieval Middle English Literary History & Criticism
  • PR1803 - PR2165: Anglo-Normal Period. Early English. Middle English
  • PT175 - PT230: Medieval German Literature History
  • PT1501 - 1695: Medieval German Literature, Collections
  • PT5555 - PT5595: Medieval German Literature, individual authors
• Renaissance
  • PN715 - PN749: Renaissance (1500-1700) Literary History
  • PN2171 - PN2179: Renaissance Theatre
  • PQ1600 - PQ1935: Renaissance French Literature
  • PQ4561 - PQ4664: Renaissance Italian Literature
  • PQ6271 - PQ6498: Spanish Literature, Individual authors and works to 1700
  • PR421 - PR439: English Literature, History & Criticism, Elizabethan era (1550-1640)
  • PR2199 - PR3195: English renaissance (1500-1640)

History

• Medieval
  • D101- D203: History (General), Medieval History
  • DA129 - DA260: History of Great Britain, Early and medieval to 1485
  • DA777 - DA790: History, Scotland. Early and medieval to 1603
  • DA930 - DA937.5: History, Ireland. Early and medieval to 1603
  • DC60 - DC109: History of France, Early and medieval to 1515
  • DD125 - DD174.6: History of Germany, Early and medieval to 1519
  • DF501 - DF649: History of Greece, Medieval Greece, Byzantine Empire, 323-1453
  • DG500 - DG537.8: Medieval and modern Italy, 476-1492
  • DJ151 - DJ152: History of Netherlands (Holland), Early and medieval to 1555
  • DL160 - DL183.9: History of Northern Europe, Scandinavia, Early and medieval to 1523
  • DP558 - DP618: History of Portugal, Early and medieval to 1580
• Renaissance
  • DA310 - DA360: History of Great Britain. Tudors, Elizabethan Age.
  • DG530 - DG537.8: History of Italy. Renaissance

Art History

Art History in the Library of Congress (LCC) classification system is split up first by medium (e.g., architecture, painting, sculpture, print media, etc) rather than by geographic location or time period. Columbia's Avery Art Library also uses more than one type of classification system, so searching in CLIO is the best way to discover books on Medieval & Renaissance Art History.

• N5300 - N5975: Medieval art
• N6370 - N6915: Renaissance Art
   

Religion & Philosophy

• Medieval
  • B720 - B765: General works, Medieval philosophy
  • BR160 - BR275: Christianity, Medieval
• Renaissance
  • B770 - B785: General works, Renaissance philosophy
  • BR280: Christianity, Renaissance & Reformation