The Brill Dictionary of Religion
by
Addresses religion as an element of daily life and public discourse. Illustrated and with more than 500 entries, the dictionary is a multi-media reference source on the many and various forms of religious commitment. It is unusual in that it not only addresses the different theologies and doctrinal declarations of the official institutionalized religions but it also gives equal weight and consideration to a multiplicity of other religious phenomena.
A Dictionary of the Bible
by
Containing over 2,000 authoritative entries it provides clear and concise information about all of the important places, people, themes, and doctrines of the Bible. Terms range from earthquakes and mice to martyrs and art, and new to this edition are entries on Act of God, Old Testament and New Testament theology, Hanukkah, the Koran, mysticism, and many more. This dictionary features a detailed bibliography, biographies of Bible scholars, a conversion table of measures, weights, and values, a chronology of important dates in Biblical history, and historical maps (showing Israel in Canaan; the near east in the time of the Assyrian Empire; Palestine under the Herods; the background of the New Testament; Rome and the East).
Vocabulary for the Study of Religion
by
The Vocabulary for the Study of Religion offers a unique overview of critical terms in the study of religion(s). This first dictionary in English covers a broad spectrum of theoretical topics used in the academic study of religion, including those from adjacent disciplines such as sociology, anthropology, historiography, theology, philology, literary studies, psychology, philosophy, cultural studies, and political sciences.
Encyclopedia of Global Religion
by
The multi-volume Encyclopedia of Global Religion provides a comprehensive overview of the globalization of religious culture and society around the world in both its historical and contemporary aspects. The encyclopedia includes topics related to the diaspora of cultures and dispersions of peoples; the transitional aspects of religious ideas and practices; the cultural diversity of religious traditions; and the responses of religion--both negative and positive--to multicultural society. The volumes include essays on the contemporary religious society of every country in the world. The contributors to the encyclopedia are leading authorities on these topics from around the world.
Religions of the World
by
An extraordinary survey, in four volumes, of the religious belief and practice in all 276 of the world's nations and territories. * 1,200+ A-Z entries including individual religious groups, country-by-country entries, and core entries that address major world religions * 200+ contributors including top religious scholars from around the globe * Photographs of religious leaders, ceremonies, sacred structures, and artifacts such as an Aboriginal sacred Churunga and the Gurujem Monastery in Tibet * Statistical data on the projected status of religions for 2000 to 2050 broken down by country and by type of religion * Cross references and end-of-entry bibliographic citations
Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals
by
The Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals and Festivals explores this complex topic through articles covering the following general categories of information: general concepts and ideas such as communitas, inversion, purity and pollution, and pilgrimages major forms of ritual and festival such as rites of passage, devotional rites, sacrifice, calendrical rites, carnival, and fasting religious rites and festivals of major religions, including Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Catholicism and Judaism rites and festivals in cultural regions such as China, sub-Saharan Africa, and the Pacific islands life-cycle rites, including those associated with birth, coming of age, marriage and death specific rites and festivals, such as Divali, Easter, Ramadan, snake handling and Yom Kippur. The Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivalscontains 130 entries contributed and signed by scholars from international universities and institutes, with expertise in such fields as Asian and Pacific studies, archaeology, communication studies, cultural anthropology, cultural studies, international studies, philosophy, psychological anthropology, religious studies, social anthropology, sociology and theology. An unprecedented resource, this new encyclopedia provides in-depth coverage of a vast array of worldwide practices with entries that draw on the latest research available, offering fresh insights while maintaining a connection with established scholarship. The cross-cultural coverage will help foster interfaith understanding as well as present and explain unfamiliar behaviours and rituals.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
by
Provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers. Volume 1, Religions of the World, contains 20-to-25-page entries on 13 major religions, such as Christianity and Islam, and 3-to-5 page entries on 28 religious subgroups, such as Shi'ites or Baptists. Volumes 2 and 3 focus on the significant religions in 193 countries; entries range from 3-8 pages.
The Anchor Bible Dictionary
by
Each entry shows where the word or concept appears within the Bible and Apocrypha. Interfaith exploration of the Bible, multicultural and interdisciplinary in scope. Extensively cross-referenced, includes articles on the Dead Sea Scrolls, early Jewish-Christian relations, the historical Jesus, sociological and literary methods of biblical criticism, feminist hermeneutics, and numerous entries on archaeological sites, as well as bibliographies with citations listed individually at the end of each article.
A Dictionary of Jewish-Christian Relations
by
This reference is a pioneering work which explores and defines the many factors which characterise the historic and ongoing relationship between the two traditions. From Aaron to Zionism, the editors have brought together over 700 entries--including events, institutions, movements, people, places and publications--contributed by more than 100 internationally renowned scholars. The Dictionary, compiled under the auspices of the Cambridge-based Centre for the Study of Jewish-Christian Relations, offers a focus for the study and understanding of Jewish-Christian relations internationally, both within and between Judaism and Christianity.
A Dictionary of the Bible
by
Containing over 2,000 authoritative entries it provides clear and concise information about all of the important places, people, themes, and doctrines of the Bible. Terms range from earthquakes and mice to martyrs and art, and new to this edition are entries on Act of God, Old Testament and New Testament theology, Hanukkah, the Koran, mysticism, and many more. This dictionary features a detailed bibliography, biographies of Bible scholars, a conversion table of measures, weights, and values, a chronology of important dates in Biblical history, and historical maps (showing Israel in Canaan; the near east in the time of the Assyrian Empire; Palestine under the Herods; the background of the New Testament; Rome and the East).
Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament
by
Also known as HALOT, combining scholarly thoroughness with easy accessibility, the dictionary meets the needs of a wide range of users. The enormous advances that have taken place in the field of Semitic linguistics since the days of the older dictionaries of Classical Hebrew are well documented and assessed, as well as the often detailed discussions in modern Bible commentaries of words where the meaning is particularly difficult. Full text search and possibility to find conjugated verb forms in the context of their roots is particularly helpful to the new student. Specialist users will find here a wealth of bibliographical information on Old Testament exegesis. The dictionary contains the complete vocabulary of the Hebrew Bible, extended with variants from the Oriental and Samaritan textual traditions, the Ben Sira fragments, and the Dead Sea Scrolls
The Concise Concordance to the New Revised Standard Version
by
An invaluable quick-reference guide to this acclaimed modern language translation, the Concise Concordance to the NRSV contains over 300 pages of entries including citations on the most important key words in the NRSV Bible. This concordance also includes over 300 capsule biographies ofsignificant biblical characters and an exhaustive index of over 600 of the most frequent phrases in the NRSV.
The A to Z of Buddhism
by
With a history spanning more than two and a half millennia and over 300 million adherents worldwide, Buddhism is one of humankind's most interesting and populous religions. This book provides a comprehensive framework for understanding Buddhism as a historically compelling religion. Because the study of Buddhism is a difficult task, including so many varied cultures, this volume seeks to assist the reader by providing a carefully designed pronunciation guide to Buddhist canonical languages, an overview of the Buddhist scriptures preserved in Pali, Chinese, and Tibetan, a chronology of Buddhist history, a map of the Buddhist world, and an extensive introduction to the history, doctrine, and community life of the religion.
A Dictionary of Buddhism
by
This new dictionary, written by Dr Damien Keown, covers both historical and contemporary issues in Buddhism, and includes all Buddhist schools and cultures. Over 2,000 broad-ranging entries cover beliefs, doctrines, major teachers and scholars, place names, and artefacts, in a clear andconcise style. The text is illustrated with line drawings of religious structures, iconographic forms and gestures, and ritual objects. Appendices include a chronology and a guide to canonical scriptures as well as a pronunciation guide for difficult names and terms.This dictionary should prove invaluable to anyone seeking information on Buddhism, from students of Theology and Social Sciences, to practising Buddhists.
A Dictionary of Chinese Buddhist Terms
by
Those who have endeavored to read Chinese texts apart from the apprehension of a Sanskrit background have generally made a fallacious interpretation, for the Buddhist canon is basically translation, or analogous to translation. In consequence, a large number of terms existing are employed approximately to connote imported ideas, as the various Chinese translators understood those ideas. Various translators invented different terms; and, even when the same term was finally adopted, its connotation varied, sometimes widely, from the Chinese term of phrase as normally used by the Chinese. Many terms of a similar character are noted in the body of this work. Consequent partly on this use of ordinary terms, even a well-educated Chinese without a knowledge of the technical equivalents finds himself unable to understand their implications.
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism
by
With more than 5,000 entries totaling over a million words, The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism bridges the major Buddhist traditions to provide encyclopedic coverage of the most important terms, concepts, texts, authors, deities, schools, monasteries, and geographical sites from across the history of Buddhism. The main entries offer both a brief definition and a substantial short essay on the broader meaning and significance of the term covered. Extensive cross-references allow readers to find related terms and concepts. An appendix of Buddhist lists (for example, the four noble truths and the thirty-two marks of the Buddha), a timeline, six maps, and two diagrams are also included.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Buddhism
by
A series of six thematic volumes including an index volume, addressing issues of global and regional importance, to be followed by an ever-expanding online resource providing access both to synthetic and comprehensive treatments and to more individuated details on persons, places, texts, doctrinal matters, and so on. Illustrated with maps and photographs, and supplemented with extensive online resources, the print version of the thematic encyclopedia will present the latest research on the main aspects of the Buddhist traditions in original essays written by the world's foremost scholars. The encyclopedia aims at a balanced and even-handed view of Buddhist traditions, presenting the most reliable accounts of well-known issues and filling gaps in heretofore-neglected areas. In doing so, it emphasizes that Buddhism is simultaneously constituted by a plurality of regional traditions and a far-reaching phenomenon spanning almost all of Asia, and more recently far beyond as well. Volume I surveys Buddhist literatures, scriptural and nonscriptural, and offers discussions of the languages of Buddhist traditions and the physical bases (manuscripts, epigraphy, etc.) available for the study of Buddhist literatures.
Buddhism and Jainism
by
This volume focuses on Buddhism and Jainism, two religions which, together with Hinduism, constitute the three pillars of Indic religious tradition in its classical formulation. It explores their history and relates how the Vedic period in the history of Hinduism drew to a close around the sixth century BCE and how its gradual etiolation gave rise to a number of religious movements. The volume describes the major role Buddhism played in the history not only of India but of Asia, and now the world as well, and the more confined role of Jainism in India until relatively recent times. It examines the followers of these religions and their influence on the Indian religious landscape. In addition, it depicts the transformative effect on existing traditions of the encounter of Hinduism with these two religions, as well as the fertile interaction between the three.
Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy
by
Covers the complex and increasingly influential field of Chinese thought, from earliest recorded times to the present day. Including coverage on the subject previously unavailable to English speakers, the Encyclopedia sheds light on the extensive range of concepts, movements, philosophical works, and thinkers that populate the field. It includes a thorough survey of the history of Chinese philosophy; entries on all major thinkers from Confucius to Mou Zongsan; essential topics such as aesthetics, moral philosophy, philosophy of government, and philosophy of literature; surveys of Confucianism in all historical periods (Zhou, Han, Tang, and onward) and in key regions outside China; schools of thought such as Mohism, Legalism, and Chinese Buddhism; trends in contemporary Chinese philosophy, and more.
Historical Dictionary of Radical Christianity
by
There are several eras in the history of Christianity radical forms of the tradition are obvious: the early church of the first five centuries, the medieval era, the age of reform, the early modern era, and the contemporary era. Radical Christian activity and experience may reflect either a primary or a derived level of spirituality. New converts may join a sect or movement with radical characteristics; or they may become dissatisfied with their initial Christian experiences and desire a different or deeper Christian spirituality, usually closely parallel to that seen in the New Testament. The Historical Dictionary of Radical Christianity covers the history of this movement and includes an introductory essay and a bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries. The dictionary entries selected reflect the leading groups, movements, and sects from each major era of Christian history. Especially in the contemporary period, the great proliferation of radical thinkers and groups has necessitated a selection process with those selected exhibiting sustained group activity, possessing an identifiable following, and demonstrating a significant cultural impact. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Radical Christianity.
Nelson's Dictionary of Christianity
by
This dictionary provides definitions for over 7,000 terms and names in the history of Christianity. The topics range from the foundational theological developments of the early church to the divisions of the Protestant Reformation to the missionary enterprises of the last two centuries. Nelson's Dictionary of Christianity is an essential resource for anyone who wants to know more about how Christians have lived, built the church, and worked to spread the gospel of Jesus Christ around the world.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
by
Based on the highly acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, this is an indispensable guide for both students and the general reader. Over 6,000 entries provide authoritative coverage of theology, patristic scholarship, churches and denominations across the world, canon law, andthe church calendar, as well as entries on theologians, philosophers, artists, musicians, and mystics.The third edition has been updated to reflect recent changes in the Church. Over 100 new entries cover topics such as the Antonian Movement, dispensationalism, Heilsgeschichte, Alvin Plantinga, Garima Gospels, and Intelligent Design. It also includes a new appendix listing the Archbishops ofCanterbury and a web links appendix providing online resources that are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website.This handy, concise volume is essential reading for anyone with an interest in Christianity.
Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
by
With over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for students and scholars.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
by
contains over 6,000 cross-referenced A-Z entries, and offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, including theology, churches and denominations, patristic scholarship, the bible, the church calendar and its organization, popes, archbishops, saints, and mystics. In this revision, innumerable small changes have been made to take into account shifts in scholarly opinion, recent developments, such as the Church of England's new prayer book (Common Worship), RC canonizations, ecumenical advances and mergers, and, where possible, statistics
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity
by
Written by a team of 800 scholars and practitioners from around the world, the volume reflects the plurality of Christianity throughout its history.
The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism
by
The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism offers an extensive survey of the history, doctrine, practices, and global circumstances of Roman Catholicism, written by a range of distinguished and experienced Catholic writers. Engages its readers in an informed and informative conversation about Roman Catholic life and thought. Embraces the local and the global, the past and the present,life and the afterlife, and a broad range of institutions and activities. Topics covered include: peacemaking, violence and wars; money,the vow of poverty and socio-economic life; art by and about Catholics; and men, women and sex
The Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization
by
The Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization is a comprehensive reference work on the history and impact of Christianity. Over 1,400 entries provide an in-depth and dynamic look at Christianity both through its history and the way it has shaped societies around the world. Through a clear and attractive format, a series of interlocking major themes is explored, including: key theological ideas; global and regional history; worship; society and Christianity; literature; music; art; architecture; education; politics; law, and scholarship. Uniting these themes is an understanding of Christianity as a truly global phenomenon with strong denominational and regional identities. The entries are written by a team of over 350 scholars and teachers from over 24 countries. Together they present a wealth of current research in a clear, concise, and attractive format.
The Encyclopedia of Christianity
by
The Encyclopedia of Christianity is the first of a five-volume English translation of the third revised edition of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added. The encyclopedia describes Christianity through its 2000-year history within a global context, taking into account other religions and philosophies. A special feature is the statistical information dispersed throughout the articles on the continents and over 170 countries. Social and cultural coverage is given to such issues as racism, genocide, and armaments, while historical content shows the development of biblical and apostolic traditions. This comprehensive work, while scholarly, is intended for a wide audience and will set the standard for reference works on Christianity.
The Encyclopedia of Christianity
by
The encyclopedia describes Christianity through its 2000-year history within a global context, taking into account other religions and philosophies. A special feature is the statistical information dispersed throughout the articles on the continents and over 170 countries. Social and cultural coverage is given to such issues as racism, genocide, and armaments, while historical content shows the development of biblical and apostolic traditions. This comprehensive work, while scholarly, is intended for a wide audience and will set the standard for reference works on Christianity
Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity
by
Account of the key historical, liturgical,doctrinal features of Eastern Orthodoxy, including the Non-Chalcedonian churches Explores of the major traditions of Eastern Orthodoxy in detail, including the Armenian, Byzantine, Coptic, Ethiopic,Slavic, Romanian, Syriac churches Uniquely comprehensive, it is edited by one of the leading scholars in the field and provides authoritative but accessible articles by a range of top international academics and Orthodox figures Spans the period from Late Antiquity to the present,encompassing subjects including history, theology, liturgy,monasticism, sacramentology, canon law, philosophy, folk culture,architecture, archaeology, martyrology, hagiography, all alongside a large and generously detailed prosopography Structured alphabetically and topically cross-indexed, with entries ranging from 100 to 6,000 words
The Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization
by
The Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization is a comprehensive reference work on the history and impact of Christianity. Over 1,400 entries provide an in-depth and dynamic look at Christianity both through its history and the way it has shaped societies around the world. Through a clear and attractive format, a series of interlocking major themes is explored, including: key theological ideas; global and regional history; worship; society and Christianity; literature; music; art; architecture; education; politics; law, and scholarship. Uniting these themes is an understanding of Christianity as a truly global phenomenon with strong denominational and regional identities. The entries are written by a team of over 350 scholars and teachers from over 24 countries. Together they present a wealth of current research in a clear, concise, and attractive format. The Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization is an essential reference for students, researchers, academics, and practitioners.
A Dictionary of Hinduism
by
Covering all the major Hindu practices, festivals, beliefs, gods, sacred sites, languages, and religious texts, this is the most comprehensive Hinduism dictionary of its kind. It contains 2,800 entries on everything from Tantra to temples, from bhakti to Divali, as well as biographica entries for key thinkers, teachers, and scholars. All entries are clear, concise, up to date, and fully cross-referenced. With its coverage spanning 3,500 years of Hinduism - from the religion's conception to Hinduism in the 21st century - this brand new A-Z also acknowledges the historical interplay between Hindu traditions and others, for example, Buddhist, Jain, Sikh, and Islamic. Detailed appendices include maps,pronunciation guide, a chronology, principal sources and further reading, and useful websites. This dictionary is an invaluable first port of call for students and teachers of Hinduism, theology, Asian studies, or philosophy, as well as the related disciplines of history, sociology, and anthropology.
Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend
by
Some thousand illustrated entries elucidate the history of Hinduism, its mythology, art, architecture, religion, laws, and folklore. The development of Hinduism is presented from its ancient manifestations in local cults and epic poems to modern-day festivals and customs worldwide. The complex relationship between the multitude of gods, goddesses, and semi-divine beings is brought to light in the articles on religion and mythology, while its rich imagery is revealed in the entries on architecture, sculpture, painting, dance, and theater, including works of art illustrated here for the first time. Food and etiquette, the caste system, Ayurvedic medicine, love and marriage, and contemporary practices are just a few of the topics explored. Maps and entries on the major cities and places of pilgrimage in India, as well as a concise chronology and a list of principal dynasties, provide a clear overview of the geography, history, languages, and vibrant religious and cultural traditions of Hinduism.
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism
by
The Historical Dictionary of Hinduism relates the history of Hinduism through a chronology, an introductory essay, photos, an extensive bibliography, and over 1,000 cross referenced dictionary entries on Hindu terminology, names of major historical figures and movements, gods and goddesses, prominent temples, terms for items used in Hindu practice, major texts, philosophical concepts, and more. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Hinduism.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism (5 Vols)
by
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism is a thematically organized encyclopedia, presenting the latest research on all the main aspects of the Hindu traditions. Its essays are original work written by the world's foremost scholars on Hinduism. The encyclopedia aims at a balanced and even-handed view of Hinduism, recognizing the divergent perspectives and methods in the academic study of a religion that is both an ancient historical tradition and a flourishing tradition today. Following a pluralistic approach, the encyclopedia embraces the greatest possible diversity, plurality, and heterogeneity.
The A to Z of Islam
by
This abridged paperpack version of The Historical Dictionary of Islam includes short biographies of theologians, philosophers, founders of Sunni and Shi'ite schools of jurisprudence, and individuals who influenced the interpretation of Islamic dogma, politics, and culture from early days to the present. The reader will find entries on major sects, philosophical trends, and the responses by Islamic movements to issues of 21st century politics, such as the inroads of Westernization in the Islamic world. A chronology lists important dates from the sixth to the end of the 20th century and an introductory chapter outlines the history of Islam and religion to modern days. A comprehensive bibliography will guide the serious student for further research.
A Dictionary of Indonesian Islam
by
Drawing from an extensive list of writings about Indonesian Islam that have appeared over the past fifteen years, Federspiel defines approximately 1,800 terms, phrases, historical figures, religious books, and place names that relate to Islam and gives their Arabic sources. This dictionary will be indispensable to English-speaking students and researchers working in Indonesian or Southeast Asian studies. It will also be useful for scholars working in Bahasa Indonesian, reading texts written about Islam by Indonesian Muslims, as well as for Southeast Asia area scholars generally who are using sources in Western languages.
A Glossary of Islam
by
This concise, accessible glossary of key Islamic terms is written by two of France's most eminent scholars of Islam. It offers brief explanations of the core background elements required by those beginning the study of Islam and covers the following:* Famous historical figures* Theological schools* Juridicial schools* Qur'anic symbols and themes* Religious rites and institutionsFocusing primarily on classical Islam, the historical references are mainly to the Sunni, Arab and Ottoman realms. This short book is an ideal text for those new to the subject of Islamic Studies and Islamic and Middle Eastern History.
Historical Dictionary of Islam
by
The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Islam presents a concise overview of Islamic history, religion, philosophy, and Islamic political movements. This is done through a list of abbreviations and acronyms, a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and cross-referenced dictionary entries, which include the biographies and thoughts of medieval thinkers, as well as those of modern members of the religious and political establishments. Articles describe the major sects, schools of theology, and jurisprudence, as well as aspects of Islamic culture. Together, this book represents a brief introduction to the field of Islamic studies.
Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalism
by
The Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalism provides a comprehensive and detailed examination into Islam as a religion, Islam as a government, and Islam as a way of life. It is a thorough analysis of various groups, events, movements, key figures, and dogmas that have influenced contemporary Islamic Fundamentalism. In this book, Dr. Guidère provides an in-depth look at Islamic Fundamentalism through a detailed chronology, an introductory essay, an Arabic-to-English glossary, and an extensive bibliography. The main portion of the book consists of the dictionary section, which has over 500 cross-referenced entries on groups, events, movements, key figures, dogmas, ideologies, and movements of the 20th and 21st centuries. This book is an excellent access point for high school students, college students, and anyone interested in a better understanding of the world of Islam.
The Oxford Dictionary of Islam
by
Designed for general readers with little or no knowledge of Islam, this superb Oxford Dictionary provides more than 2,000 vividly written, up-to-date, and authoritative entries organized in an easy-to-use, A-to-Z format. The Dictionary focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, stressing topics of most interest to Westerners. What emerges is a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world. There are biographical profiles, ranging from Naguib Mahfouz (the Nobel Prize winner from Egypt) to Malcolm X, including political leaders, influential thinkers, poets, scientists, and writers. Other entries cover major political movements, militant groups, and religious sects as well as terms from Islamic law, culture, and religion, key historical events, and important landmarks (such as Mecca and Medina). A series of entries look at Islam in individual nations, such as Afghanistan, the West Bank and Gaza, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and the United States, and there are discussions of Islamic views on such issues as abortion, birth control, the Internet, the Rushdie Affair, and the theory of evolution.
Encyclopaedia of Islam - Three
by
The Third Edition of Brill's Encyclopaedia of Islam appears in four substantial segments each year, both online and in print. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world. This Part 2013-4 of the Third Edition of Brill's Encyclopaedia of Islam will contain 67 new articles, reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship in the fields of Islamic Studies.
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'An
by
The Qur'an is the primary religious text for one-fifth of the world's population and has been an object of reverence and of intense study for centuries. Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an contains alphabetically arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an. It is an encyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history, and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies. With over 750 entries, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur'an to appear in Western languages.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
by
Most up-to-date Analyses. The ever-growing numbers of students matriculating in disciplines connected to the teaching and understanding of Islam need accurate, current information on this religion and its impact on the world. Balanced Coverage. Rich historical content is partnered with coverage of the issues, countries, and people that are important in today's world, allowing for an assessment of Islam's influence on all areas of human activity throughout the Middle East, Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas Fully Updated Content. More than 50% new and revised content, including more than 160 new entries and 60 sidebars. Beautifully Illustrated in Full Color. This edition doubles the number of photos and maps from the first edition, all in color.
Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures
by
Focuses on women and the civilizations and societies in which Islam has played a historic role. Surveys all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, the arts, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, and so forth) of women in these societies.
Encyclopedias about Muslim Civilisations
by
The first volume in the Muslim Civilisations Abstracts series is an innovative reference catalogue of 200 annotated bibliographies and abstracts of encyclopedias published during the nineteenth, twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Material is presented in English, Arabic and Turkish. Volumesin the series seek not only to represent the diversity of the Muslim world, but also to create access to and reinforce communication between scholars and institutions within the Muslim world; where the sharing of knowledge and information has often been hindered due to language barriers.
Islamic Desk Reference
by
This handy one-volume work contains a condensation of the subject-matter of "The Encyclopaedia of Islam," the most prestigious and valuable reference work for Islamic studies published this century. In a brief, orderly and intelligible form a unique and valuable quick reference tool for those interested in the religion, the believers and the countries of the Islamic world. All entries in the are given in English. Thus, names of Arabic origin which in the West were corrupted to another spelling, e.g. Ibn Sina to Avicenna, al-Kuhl to alcohol, are found under the latter term. Contains maps, diagrams and genealogical tables for easy reference, and illustrations.
Medieval Islamic Civilization
by
Examines the socio-cultural history of the regions where Islam took hold between the seventh and sixteenth century. This important two-volume work contains over 700 alphabetically arranged entries, contributed and signed by international scholars and experts in fields such as Arabic languages, Arabic literature, architecture, art history, history, history of science, Islamic arts, Islamic studies, Middle Eastern studies, Near Eastern studies, politics, religion, Semitic studies, theology, and more. This reference provides an exhaustive and vivid portrait of Islamic civilization including the many scientific, artistic, and religious developments as well as all aspects of daily life and culture.
The Oxford encyclopedia of philosophy, science, and technology in Islam
by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Science and Technology in Islam (OEPSTI) builds upon the celebrated Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World and brings together the rich history of philosophical and scientific disciplines in Islam over the last fourteen centuries
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
by
This unique reference is a comprehensive encyclopedia dedicated to the institutions, religion, politics, and culture in Muslim societies throughout the world. Placing particular emphasis on the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, this encyclopedia contains over 750 articles in four volumes on Muslims in the Arab heartland as well as South and Southeast Asia, Europe, and the Americas. An invaluable resource, the Encyclopedia offers extensive comparative and systematic analyses of Islamic beliefs, institutions, movements, practices, and peoples on an international scale. The alphabetically arranged articles range from brief 500-word essays to major interpretive and synthetic treatment of topics such as the Islamic state, pilgrimage, law, marriage, and foreign relations. Related entries cover areas of general interest such as social and political movements, women, Muslim minorities, human rights, Islam in the West, and interreligious affairs.
Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture
by
An authoritative and accessible reference work detailing the concepts and movements that distinguish Judaism and the Jewish experience. The book discusses central figures and literary works, formative historical events, Jewish rituals and practices, and it illuminates the lives of ordinary Jewish men and women. But what makes this dictionary different is its broad exploration of the Jewish experience beyond Judaism, including literature, art, music, theater, dance, film, broadcasting, sports, and ecology, among many other topics from the Bible to the internet.
Historical Dictionary of Judaism
by
The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Judaism doesn't just present "religious" beliefs in a traditional sense, but investigates the complex intermingling of religion, devotion, lifestyle and culture, as it is found in diverse Jewish populations around the world and as it has evolved over the course of recent human history. Judaism, like many other cultural institutions, has rarely remained static--instead, continually investigating and questioning itself, metamorphosing in relation to the world. By means of a list of acronyms and abbreviations, a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and numerous cross-referenced dictionary entries on important persons, writings, institutions, concepts, Hebrew words, philosophy, theology, and religious law, author Norman Solomon provides an important reference source for the study of Judaism.
Encyclopaedia Judaica
by
Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions
by
This multicultural reference work on Jewish folklore, legends, customs, and other elements of folklife is the first of its kind.
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World
by
The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World covers an area of Jewish history, religion, and culture whichuntil now has lacked its own cohesive/discreet reference work. The Encyclopedia aims to fill thegap in academic reference literature on the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. The only reference work of its kind: up-to-date research and bibliographies make it indispensable for all levels of users. Over 250 color and black and white illustrations, graphs, and maps. Over 2200 entries and 1.5 million words
Medieval Jewish Civilization
by
This is the first encyclopedic work to focus exclusively on medieval Jewish civilization, from the fall of the Roman Empire to about 1492. The more than 150 alphabetically organized entries, written by scholars from around the world, include biographies, countries, events, social history, and religious concepts. The coverage is international, presenting people, culture, and events from various countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East.
The Shengold Jewish Encyclopedia
by
First published in 1957, this one-volume source for everything Jewish has delighted and instructed several generations in the English-speaking Jewish world. Fully updated through 2007, it provides snapshots and in-depth entries on every important Jewish personality, place, concept, event and value in Israel, the United States, and all other parts of the world.