LibGuides: Slavic Studies: Background Information

Russian Dictionaries

Online

Oxford Russian Dictionary by Oxford (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780198614203
Publication Date: 2007-05-28
The dictionary is also more accessible for Russian speakers, with the addition of contextualizations on the Russian-English side to help users select the most appropriate translation. There is an extensive guide to English grammar, written in Russian, and the Russian native speaker who wishes to use or understand American English is well catered for.
Russian-English Dictionary of Verbal Collocations by Morton Benson; Evelyn Benson
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9789027274014
Publication Date: 1993-04-21
All languages are characterized by the regular cooccurrence of certain words; for example, we say in English, tall building but high mountain. These recurrent combinations or collocations are peculiar to each individual language and cannot be predicted by a learner of that language. The REDVC makes every effort to describe contemporary Russian, and a large number of illustrative examples were taken from the current Russian press. However, to provide an adequate description of the Russian used during the Soviet era, some obsolete political expressions are included as well. This dictionary is intended for English-speaking learners of Russian and Russian-speaking learners of English, both at intermediate and advanced level. It will also prove indispensable to translators of both languages.

In Print

English-Russian, Russian-English Dictionary by Kenneth Katzner
Call Number: Butler PG2640 .K34 1994
ISBN: 0471056774
Publication Date: 1994-12-07
Based on American rather than British English, this is among the first Russian dictionaries revised for the post-Soviet era. Includes new political terminology, new Russian institutions, new countries and republics and new city names. Contains 26,000 entries in the English-Russian section and 40,000 words in the Russian-English section. Irregularities in Russian declensions and conjugations appear at the beginning of each entry.

Historical Dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of Russian Theater by Laurence Senelick
Call Number: Butler PN2721 .S46 2007
ISBN: 0810857928
Publication Date: 2007-03-16
Provides information on popular plays and playwrights and offers details about many people, works, and phenomena omitted from standard encyclopedias. Through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, an appendix, and hundreds of cross-referenced entries on directors, stage designers, actors, plays, playwrights, concepts, theater buildings, and troupes, this book provides an unrivaled account of Russian theater.
Historical Dictionary of Russian Literature by Jonathan Stone
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780810873858
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The Historical Dictionary of Russian Literature contains a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 100 cross-referenced entries on significant people, themes, critical issues, and the most significant genres that have formed Russian Literature.
Historical Dictionary of Russian Music by Daniel Jaffé
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780810879805
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Historical Dictionary of Russian Music covers the history of Russian music starting from the earliest archaeological discoveries to the present, including folk music, sacred music, and secular art music. The book contains a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 500 cross-referenced dictionary entries on every major composer in Russia's history, as well as several leading composers of today. It also includes the patrons and institutions that commissioned works by those composers and the choreographers and dancers who helped shape the great ballet masterpieces.
Historical Dictionary of Russian and Soviet Cinema by Peter Rollberg
Call Number: Barnard PN1998.2 .R578 2016
ISBN: 9781442268418
Publication Date: 2016-07-20
Contains a chronology, an introduction, and a bibliography. The dictionary section has over 600 cross-referenced entries on directors, performers, cinematographers, composers, designers, producers, and studios. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Russian and Soviet Cinema.
Historical Dictionary of Medieval Russia by Lawrence N. Langer
Call Number: Butler DK71 .L32 2002 + ebook
ISBN: 0810840804
Publication Date: 2001-12-11
The dictionary covers the history of Russia from its founding in the mid-ninth century to the reign of Peter the Great. It contains entries on politics, society, economy, literature, religion, art.

Encyclopedias & Other Reference Works

The Cambridge Companion to Modern Russian Culture by Nicholas Rzhevsky (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781107002524
Publication Date: 2012-04-05
Mother Russia by Joanna Hubbs
Call Number: Barnard BL940.S65 H83 1988 + ebook
ISBN: 0585000646
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
A ground-breaking interpretation of Russian culture from prehistory to the present, dealing with the feminine myth as a central cultural force
The Cambridge History of Russian Literature by Charles A. Moser (Editor)
Call Number: Butler PG2951 .C36 1992 = ebook
ISBN: 0521415543
Publication Date: 1992-05-01
An updated edition of this comprehensive narrative history, containing a new chapter on Russian literature of the 1980s and additional bibliographical information.
The Cambridge History of Inner Asia by Robert McChesney; Nicola Di Cosmo (Editor); Allen J. Frank (Editor); Peter B. Golden (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780521849265
Publication Date: 2009-08-27
This volume centres on the history and legacy of the Mongol World Empire founded by Chinggis Khan and his sons, including its impact upon the modern world. An international team of scholars examines the political and cultural history of the Mongol empire, its Chinggisid successor states, and the non-Chinggisid dynasties that came to dominate Inner Asia in its wake. Geographically, it focuses on the continental region from East Asia to Eastern Europe. Beginning in the twelfth century, the volume moves through to the establishment of Chinese and Russian political hegemony in Inner Asia from the sixteenth to the nineteenth centuries. Contributors use recent research and new approaches that have revitalized Inner Asian studies to highlight the world-historical importance of the regimes and states formed during and after the Mongol conquest. Their conclusions testify to the importance of a region whose modern fate has been overshadowed by Russia and China.
The Cambridge History of Russia by Maureen Perrie (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780521812276
Publication Date: 2006-09-14
Published as three separate volumes, all available in CLIO as ebooks
The Oxford Handbook of Modern Russian History by ed. Simon Dixon
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780199236701
Publication Date: 2013
The Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity by David J. Melling (Editor); Dimitri Brady (Editor); Sidney H. Griffith (Editor); John F. Healey (Editor); Jerry Norman (Contribution by); Ken Parry (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780631232032
Publication Date: 2001-11-28
Containing over 700 articles, this Dictionary allows the reader to explore Eastern Christian civilization with its cultural and religious riches. The articles are written by a team of 50 international contributors, including leading historians, theologians, linguists, philosophers, patrologists, musicians, and scholars of liturgy and iconography.
Women and Gender in Central and Eastern Europe, Russia, and Eurasia by Association for Women in Slavic Studies (AWSS) Staff; Mary Zirin; Irina Livezeanu; June Farris (Editor); Christine D. Worobec
Call Number: Butler Ref R016.396 W835
ISBN: 0765607379
Publication Date: 2007-05-15
The coverage encompasses the relevant territories of the Russian, Hapsburg, and Ottoman empires, Germany and Greece, and the Jewish and Roma diasporas. Topics range from legal status and marital customs to economic participation and gender roles, plus unparalleled documentation of women writers and artists, and autobiographical works of all kinds. Many of the individual entries are annotated with brief descriptions of major works and the tables of contents for collections and anthologies. The entries are cross-referenced and each volume includes indexes.

Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature and Folklore
In English and Russian. A project instituted in 1995 by the Gorky Institute of World Literature and the Informregistr Center at the Russian Ministry for Communications, and online since July 2002. FEB-web is, first and foremost, a repository of Russian verbal art and the scholarly and other texts vital to understanding it. FEB-web makes the canon of Russian verbal art available free of charge to anyone with internet access. FEB-web is also a unique analytical tool with functional capabilities that allow researchers to approach Russian verbal art in a fundamentally new way. In assembling its collections, FEB-web sustains an unprecedented level of bibliographical and textological precision — these are texts the most demanding researchers can trust. The key concept that makes all this possible is The FEB-web Digital Scholarly Edition (DSE). Each DSE combines an exhaustive collection of primary texts with all the essential secondary literature and bibliographical works you need to do research on a given author, genre, or work (e.g. Pushkin, byliny, or The Lay of Igor's Campaign ).

Slavic Studies

Finding Dictionaries in CLIO

Slavic Studies Librarian

Russian Dictionaries

Online

In Print

Historical Dictionaries

Encyclopedias & Other Reference Works