Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOCI 3217: Law and Society

Prof. Debbie Becher, Spring 2023

Material Advocacy workshop - Feb. 8

Material Advocacy workshop in the Design Center
"How do we visually represent reproductive justice advocacy in social space? What is the importance of physical ephemera in protest movements today and in the past? After viewing relevant ephemera in the Barnard Archives, we'll learn how to ideate and materialize designs centered on reproductive justice with the Design Center and Athena Center. We will be creating original collaborative designs and translating them to historically relevant material forms including t-shirts, buttons, posters, and tote bags. Through this hands-on process, you’ll come away with material objects in support of the reproductive justice movement and learn new tools and making processes including screen printing, dye sublimation, and button making."

February 8, 2023 | 1:00pm - 4:00pm, Milstein 104

Be sure to RSVP here, but cancellations are frequent so you are still welcome to show up on the day of the event and you may be able to participate. You can also check this page closer to the event, as spots may have opened up as participants cancel.

 

Jennie Correia, Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Jennie Correia
she/her/hers
Contact:
Milstein 304
212.854.9096
Website

About this guide

""Welcome!  This page highlights key resources for conducting effective research for Prof. Debbie Becher's course, Law and Society.

This guide highlights key resources for conducting effective information research in sociology, including the following: 

  • Reference sources to find background information on your topic
  • Catalogs to search for books in print and online
  • Databases for locating scholarly journal articles
  • Reliable sources of data and statistics
  • Database for locating news articles, transcripts, and videos
  • Resources for citing your sources and writing in sociology
  • Tips to to help keep textbook costs down
  • Remote library resources

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

To visit the Barnard Archives, first search collections. You can directly access Digital Collections, or reach out to the archives for an appointment to see physical materials. Please contact us at archives@barnard.edu as soon as possible (at least one week) in advance of any planned visits to the Archives, including in your message the collection and boxes you want to use.

Image: Courtroom gavel by onaeg news agency, via Wikimedia Commons

Background information

Consult scholarly reference sources to get an overview of a topic, an introduction to a theory, definitions to discipline-specific terms, and more.