LibGuides: SOCI 3930: Advanced Topics in Race and Ethnicity: Getting Started

About this guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective research for Advanced Topics in Race and Ethnicity, including the following:

Library research session slides, worksheets, and feedback form
Reference sources to find background information on your topic
Catalogs to search for books in print and online
Databases for locating scholarly journal articles
Resources for locating news articles, transcripts, and videos
Reliable sources of data and statistics
Resources for citing your sources and writing in sociology
Tips to to help keep textbook costs down

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

Scholarly reference sources

Consult scholarly reference sources to get an overview of a topic, an introduction to a theory, definitions to discipline-specific terms, and more.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by Bryan S. Turner (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521832908

Publication Date: 2006-08-14

An indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field
The Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer; J. Michael Ryan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405183536

Publication Date: 2011-01-25

This concise encyclopedia is the most complete international survey of sociology ever created in one volume. Contains over 800 entries from the whole breadth of the discipline Distilled from the highly regarded Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, with entries completely revised and updated to provide succinct and up-to-date coverage of the fundamental topics Global in scope, both in terms of topics and contributors Each entry includes references and suggestions for further reading Cross-referencing allows easy movement around the volume
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society by Richard T. Schaefer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412926942

Publication Date: 2008-03-20
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by George Ritzer (Editor)
ISBN: 0761926119

Publication Date: 2004-08-19
Oxford African American Studies Center by by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. (editor)
Publication Date: updated three times a year

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195156003

Publication Date: 2005-08-25
Race and Racism in the United States by Charles A. Gallagher (Editor); Cameron D. Lippard (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440803451

Publication Date: 2014-06-24