SOCI 3943: Black Americans and Development Politics

Winner, 2024 RUSA Outstanding Reference Award An indispensable resource for understanding trends and issues in African American political organizing; the history of Black Liberation movements in the United States; and the fortitude, determination, reliance, beauty and influence of Black culture and community. The book begins with a suite of seven long-form essays on various aspects of Black political involvement and empowerment, including the importance of Black women in early labor organizing; campaigns defending Black voting rights against suppression and disenfranchisement; the Black Lives Matter movement; and the contributions and legacy of the nation's first Black president, Barack Obama. The encyclopedia itself contains approximately 200 authoritative entries on a wide assortment of topics related to African-American political activism and empowerment, including biographical profiles of key leaders and activists, political issues and topics of particular interest to African=American voters and lawmakers, important laws and court cases, influential organizations, and pivotal events in American culture that have influenced the trajectory of Black participation in the nation's political life.

An indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field

This book is a teaching dictionary with the goal of de-mystifying current social science theory in a comprehensive, accessible format. It focuses on important terminology in progressive, radical, critical Marxist, feminist, left-liberal, postmodern, and semiotic contexts.

This A-to-Z volume examines the role of African Americans in the political process from the early days of the American Revolution to the present. Focusing on basic political ideas, court cases, laws, concepts, ideologies, institutions, and political processes, this book covers all facets of African Americans in American government. Written by a nationally renowned scholar in the field, the Encyclopedia of African-American Politics, Third Edition will enlighten readers to the struggles and triumphs of African Americans in the American political system. Entries include: Abolitionist Movement African immigrants Barack Obama Black Lives Matter Black Panther Party Civil Rights Act of 1964 Emancipation Proclamation "Forty Acres and a Mule" Freedmen's Bureau Hurricane Katrina Institutional racism Integrationism Juneteenth Lynching Malcolm X Million Man March Raphael Warnock  

The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition, provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the United States and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance.

Political sociology is a large and expanding field with many new developments, and The New Handbook of Political Sociology supplies the knowledge necessary to keep up with this exciting field. Written by a distinguished group of leading scholars in sociology, this volume provides a survey of this vibrant and growing field in the new millennium. The Handbook presents the field in six parts: theories of political sociology, the information and knowledge explosion, the state and political parties, civil society and citizenship, the varieties of state policies, and globalization and how it affects politics. Covering all subareas of the field with both theoretical orientations and empirical studies, it directly connects scholars with current research in the field.

How is race defined and perceived in America today, and how do these definitions and perceptions compare to attitudes 100 years ago… or 200 years ago? This four-volume set addresses many topics related to race in the United States.

The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Political Sociology is a complete reference guide, reflecting the scope and quality of the discipline, and highlighting emerging topics in the field.