LibGuides: Spanish and Latin American Cultures & Latinx Studies: Getting Started

About This Guide

In this guide, you'll find resources to support research in Latinx Studies, Latin American Cultures, and Spanish, including:

Resources to research background and contextual information on your topic and the approaches you might be bringing to your research (see links below)
Places to find books in print and online
Databases for locating articles, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles
Approaches to finding primary sources
Resources for citing your sources and writing in Africana Studies
Guidelines for getting required course texts for free via the Library

Please feel free to book an appointment with me on my calendar page, for further support with your research.

Reference Sources

Decolonizing Rhetoric and Composition Studies by Iris D. Ruiz (Editor); Raúl Sánchez (Editor)
ISBN: 9781137527233
Publication Date: 2016-10-15
Brings together Latinx scholars in Rhetoric and Composition to discuss keywords that have been misused or appropriated by forces working against the interests of students of color. They also theorize new key terms that highlight the importance of Latinx writing and thought to rhetoric and composition studies.
Diccionario Oxford compact : English-Spanish by chief editors, Nicholas Rollin, Carol Styles Carvajal, Jane Horwood
ISBN: 9780191735097
Publication Date: 2009
This dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases and contains 130,000 translations. It contains words dealing with age, time, countries, sports, business, computing and current affairs, among other topics and themes.
Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography by Franklin W. Knight (Editor); Henry Louis Gates
ISBN: 9780199935796
Publication Date: 2016
Covers Afro-descended people in the Caribbean and throughout Latin America, including people who spoke and wrote Creole, Dutch, English, French, Portuguese, and Spanish. Biographical entries consider philosophers, politicians, activists, entertainers, scholars, poets, scientists, religious figures, kings, and everyday people . Each entry includes a bibliography of sources cited and consulted, with links to search for access via Barnard and Columbia's collections.
Dictionary of Latin American Cultural Studies by Robert McKee Irwin (Editor); Mónica Szurmuk (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813037585
Publication Date: 2012
explains and contextualizes fifty-four key terms and theories, including some general concepts in cultural studies (e.g., body, deconstruction, ideology, postmodernism, power, queer theory) as they relate to research in Latin America, and some specific to the field of Latin American studies (e.g., anthropophagy, deterritorialization, lettered city). Each entry defines the term in question, explains its usages, discusses its etymology and the intellectuals who have made relevant contributions, and provides a bibliography of essential sources.
Latinx Studies: the Key Concepts by Frederick Aldama; Christopher Gonzalez
ISBN: 9781138088436
Publication Date: 2018-11-29
Covers central concepts and issues that inform Latinx Studies globally. It summarizes, explains, contextualizes, and assesses key critical concepts, perspectives, developments, and debates in Latinx Studies, including: * Body * Border Theory * Digital Era * Familia * Immigration * Intersectionality * Language * Latinidad/es * Latinofuturism * Narco Cultura * Popular Culture * Sports. Fully cross-referenced and complete with suggestions for further reading.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195156003
Publication Date: 2005-08-25
Over 900 A to Z articles ranging in length from 500 words to 7,500 words written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. Each entry has its own bibliography and cross-references and is signed by its author.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Latin American History
Publication Date: 2015-
A digital research encyclopedia that describes Latin American cultures, histories, and experiences from pre-Columbian to contemporary times. Includes images and some access to original sources.