LibGuides: SPAN 3349: Imagining Hispanic Worlds: Narrative and Representation from Antiquity to 1700: Getting Started

About This Guide

In this guide, you'll find resources to help you with your research for the Spanish and Latin American Cultures course SPAN 3349: Imagining Hispanic Worlds.

Resources to research background and contextual information on your topic and the approaches you might be bringing to your research (see links below)
Places to find books in print and online
Databases for locating articles, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles
Approaches to finding primary sources
Resources for citing your sources and writing in Africana Studies
Guidelines for getting required course texts for free via the Library

Image: Jojagal. Photograph of "Descripción del Manuscrito Nueva Crónica y Buen Gobierno de Felipe Huamán Poma de Ayala." Via Wikimedia Commons, CC0 1.0, Public Domain.

Guaman Poma lectura (for class activity)

Reference Resources

A Companion to Latin American History by Thomas H. Holloway
ISBN: 9781444338843
Publication Date: 2010
Features 28 chapters covering major themes and areas in the history of Latin America. All entries are written by scholars in the field, with extensive bibliographies of sources referenced.
Latin American history by editor in chief, William Beezley
ISBN: 9780199366439
Publication Date: 2014
Features over 390 fully researched and cross referenced articles on various themes and figures in Latin American history. All articles include bibliographies of sources cited.
Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures by David Carrasco (editor)
ISBN: 0195188438
Publication Date: c2006
Chronicles pre-colonial, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. Topics include art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, Indigenous history, and historiography of the region in fully cross-referenced articles.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
provides a fully searchable bilingual dictionaries, including a Spanish-English and English-Spanish dictionary online, with supplementary resources in Spanish language history, culture, and colloquialisms.

Real Academia Española
provides a strong collection of online Spanish language resources covering Spain and Latin America, including historic and regionally specific dictionaries and corpuses.