SPAN 3446: Venezuela: Robbery and Nature

Covers Afro-descended people in the Caribbean and throughout Latin America, including people who spoke and wrote Creole, Dutch, English, French, Portuguese, and Spanish. Biographical entries consider philosophers, politicians, activists, entertainers, scholars, poets, scientists, religious figures, kings, and everyday people . Each entry includes a bibliography of sources cited and consulted, with links to search for access via Barnard and Columbia's collections.

explains and contextualizes fifty-four key terms and theories, including some general concepts in cultural studies (e.g., body, deconstruction, ideology, postmodernism, power, queer theory) as they relate to research in Latin America, and some specific to the field of Latin American studies (e.g., anthropophagy, deterritorialization, lettered city). Each entry defines the term in question, explains its usages, discusses its etymology and the intellectuals who have made relevant contributions, and provides a bibliography of essential sources.

The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice presents a comprehensive overview of the field with topics of varying dimensions, breadth, and length. This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.

A vocabulary of Latinx Studies. Keywords for Latina/o Studies is a generative text that enhances the ongoing dialogue within a rapidly growing and changing field. The keywords included in this collection represent established and emergent terms, categories, and concepts that undergird Latina/o studies; they delineate the shifting contours of a field best thought of as an intellectual imaginary and experiential project of social and cultural identities within the U.S. academy. Bringing together sixty-three essays, from humanists, historians, anthropologists, sociologists, among others, each focused on a single term, the volume reveals the broad range of the field while also illuminating the tensions and contestations surrounding issues of language, politics, and histories of colonization, specific to this area of study.

A digital research encyclopedia that describes Latin American cultures, histories, and experiences from pre-Columbian to contemporary times. Includes images and some access to original sources.