Welcome! This course guide brings together resources related to art and performance and the ongoing AIDS crisis in the United States. These resources are only a starting point.
Please feel free to make an appointment with me to broaden your focus. You can book directly into my calendar using the "Schedule Appointment" button on the left, or email me at mwisner@barnard.edu.
Image: ACT UP, Silence = Death, 1987. Color lithograph. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org.
As the world's largest encyclopedia, Wikipedia's coverage is vast. You are more likely to find articles on obscure topics in Wikipedia than you would 
anywhere else. But is Wikipedia accurate? While Wikipedia can be edited by anyone in the world (including you!), scholarly encyclopedias like Encyclopedia Britannica are written and edited by experts in their fields. However, 2005 study in the journal Nature weighed the accuracy of science articles on Wikipedia against the more scholarly Encyclopedia Britannica, Wikipedia was found to be nearly as accurate in the 42 articles investigated. Encyclopedia Britannica refuted these claims. When using Wikipedia, or any encyclopedia for that matter, it is wise to verify what you find.
Check the citations, recommended resources and external links to guide you to more scholarly work.
Encyclopedia of AIDS : a social, political, cultural, and scientific record of the HIV epidemic by 
The Encyclopedia of HIV and AIDS by 
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by