LibGuides: URBS 3310: Race, Space and Urban Schools: Articles

Selected Journals

Education & urban studies literature databases

America: History & Life with Full Text
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews (also known as AR) are great for getting comprehensive summaries of research on specific topics in a variety of fields. Look at the bibliographies to lead you to the original works cited.
Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
This database provides citations, abstracts and full text of articles in scholarly education periodicals and other publications.
Education Research Complete
This database provides citations, abstracts and full text for scholarly education journals and books.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an online library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, and contains citations, abstracts, and full-text for articles in education periodicals and other publications. ERIC is available through a variety of platforms:
- ERIC via the National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance (NCEE)/Institute of Education Sciences (IES)/U.S. Department of Education - This is freely available for anyone to search. You might also need to search for the content in CLIO and/or Educat to locate the material in the Columbia Libraries collections.
- ERIC via EbscoHost - Access limited to Barnard/Columbia community; UNI is needed to access the database from off-campus. E-links will try to directly connect you to content in Columbia Libraries collections. In EBSCO, you can simultaneously search across ERIC, Education Full Text, and Education Research Complete.
- ERIC via ProQuest - Access limited to Barnard/Columbia community; UNI is needed to access the database from off-campus. E-links will try to connect you to content in Columbia Libraries collections. Thesaurus difficult to browse.

GenderWatch
This database includes full text works from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports from 1970 to present.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. It is also very useful for seeing if other scholars have cited a book, article, etc. Search on the title, and then follow the "Cited by ..." link.
PAIS Index
Indexes journal articles; books; government documents; statistical compilations; committee reports; directories; serials; reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations; and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world. Areas covered include the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
Race Relations Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1963 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records for journal articles added after 1974 contain in-depth abstracts. Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business, education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; women's studies.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Features bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Studies, and Canadian Journal of Urban Research.

Search Tips

Boolean searching is based on an algebraic system of logic formulated by George Boole, a 19th century English mathematician.

In a Boolean keyword search, the terms are combined by the operators AND, OR and NOT to narrow or broaden the search (in CLIO, Ovid, and some other databases, you DO have to enter them in capitals). This type of search is possible in most library catalogs and databases, but Google and other Web search engines do not carry out OR and NOT searches properly.

These Venn diagrams help to visualize the meaning of AND, OR and NOT; the colored area indicates the items that will be retrieved in each case.

AND

The operator AND narrows the search by instructing the search engine to search for all the records containing the first keyword, then for all the records containing the second keyword, and show only those records that contain both.

OR

The operator OR broadens the search to include records containing either keyword, or both.
The OR search is particularly useful when there are several common synonyms for a concept, or variant spellings of a word.

Examples using OR:
medieval OR "middle ages"
"heart attack" OR "myocardial infarction"
vergil OR virgil

NOT

Combining search terms with the NOT operator narrows the search by excluding unwanted terms.

Examples using combinations of the three operators:
puritans AND women AND (massachusetts OR connecticut OR "rhode island" OR "new hampshire")
(adolescen* OR teen*) AND (cigarettes OR smok*)
reagan AND "star wars" NOT (movie OR film OR cinema OR "motion picture")
"zora neale hurston" AND (correspondence OR letter* OR diar* OR autobiograph* OR memoir*)

URBS 3310: Race, Space and Urban Schools

Off-campus access to online resources

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Jennie Correia, Social Sciences Librarian

Selected Journals

Education & urban studies literature databases

Search Tips

AND

OR

NOT