ENGL 1212: First Year Writing, The Americas: Contact, Colonialisms, Revolutions (Cary-Mehta)

The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.

This comprehensive encyclopedia covers the reciprocal effects that the politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, and the American nations have had on one another since the time of Columbus. * More than 400 cross-referenced entries covering events and themes as diverse as the impact in Iberia of foodstuffs introduced from the New World, such as tomatoes and potatoes, and U.S. policy toward Spain and Portugal during the Cold War * An extensive bibliography listing sources ranging from archival letters to the most recent scholarship from the Americas, Spain, and Portugal.

Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies. The core content includes: Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes ; the Encyclopedia of African American history ; Black women in America, 2nd ed ; and the African American national biography.

Organized alphabetically, the articles range from 500-word biographies to 7,000-word entries on geography and history to the legacy of the arts, writings, architecture, and religious rituals, covering Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. An extensive network of cross-references, blind entries, and annotated bibliographies guide the reader to related entries within the Encyclopedia and provide the groundwork for further research.

Covers many aspects of American women's experience, including women of various economic and racial statuses, religious affiliations, political and ideological identifications, and sexualities. Includes a significant selection of primary documents. Entries are organized chronologically, with thematic chapters covering historical eras.