PSYC 2156 Clinical Psychology

PsycINFO

• The major database for psychology, providing citations and abstracts for the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics. 


• Use the "APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms" 
  • Distinguish between conceptually close terms like "bullying" and "teasing"
  • Use specific technical vocabulary to get more relevant search results


• Limits include: 
  • Major Subject Headings
  • Age
  • Gender
  • Methodology (find review articles here!)
  • Tests & Measures
  • Population
  • And more...

​

If you can find a review article on your topic -- or an aspect of it -- it can greatly help. Review articles give a summation and synthesis of research done on a particular topic.

These are the top 3 ranked review journals for Clinical Psychology according to SCIMAGO:

Annual Review of Clinical Psychology

Clinical Psychology Review

Health Psychology Review

TIP: Also limit your search in PsycINFO for just review articles. Find the limit under "Methodology" on the sidebar or wherever limits are found.

• Scopus
  Scholarly articles in all disciplines, including psychology. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify
• Web of Science
  Scholarly articles in all disciplines, including psychology. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify.

• Gender Studies
  Combines the databases Women's Studies International and Men's Studies with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.  Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, working papers and dissertations
• MEDLINE
  The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier bibliographic database, containing millions of references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
  There are three different interfaces to the same data: MEDLINE in EBSCOhost | MEDLINE in Ovid | MEDLINE in Web of Science.
• Social Work Abstracts
  Social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization and more.
• Sociological Abstracts
  Indexes the international literature in sociology, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.