Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NSOP with Barnard Library & Academic Information Services (BLAIS)

Welcome, new students! This is a guide to activities and readings to introduce you to BLAIS.

Archives

At the Barnard Archives and Special Collections, we collect materials that document Barnard campus and academic life and histories of dance and feminism. Our work is informed by reparative and redistributive frameworks, to actively confront histories of exclusion of people with marginalized identities within our collections. The Archives are yours--to use, to build, to reimagine. 

Zoom Backgrounds

Download a Barnard Archives Zoom background to add some historical Barnard style to your fall classes: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1-_rXJmvBaTzBiVjXGF_xScbwfZ4GmTOB

Explore

Physically, the Archives office and reading room are on the fourth floor of the Milstein Center, but during this virtual time, you can explore some digitized selections from our collections online: listen to a performance by June Jordan, see photos of student clubs, read the demands that BOSS presented to the President in 1969. Or you can flip through a Reorientation new student guide from 1971

Archives x DHC

The Archives have collaborated with the DHC and other centers to support student-led research and archives projects, including Black @ Barnard, created by Corinth Jackson ‘20, and Rooming at Barnard, created by Maya Garfinkel ‘19. We would love to support your research and digital projects for your classes, clubs, activism, or personal interest. Get in touch with