LibGuides: ENGL 3927: Senior Seminar: Nineteenth Century American Women Writers: Nineteenth Century Texts

Using CLIO to locate nineteenth century texts

Before you start a search, think of possible terms you would like to use. Keep in mind language/ words and phrases that would be contemporaneous to the time period you are researching.

Catalog

A catalog search can be helpful in leading you to books, manuscripts, or occasionally periodicals (by title) published in the nineteenth century.
Enter search terms into the search box. The default "All Fields" setting runs the broadest possible search, but if you want to search by a specific author name, title, etc., you can switch the drop-down menu settings.
Once your search results appear, you can start to narrow these down even further using the facet boxes on the left. For instance:
- Format allows you to limit your results to what you can access online.
- Publication Date : Use this to specify a range of years of publication
- Country of Publication: Use this to limit to the United States, or a specific state
- Subject (Genre) can be helpful to peruse, and hone in on, some of the genres represented in the results (for instance, poetry, or songs).

Articles+

The Articles+ search can lead you to a wide range of articles, including newspaper and academic journal articles. It also pulls in other kinds of digital sources, such as ebooks, digitized images, maps, and web resources.
Enter search terms into the search box. The default "All Fields" setting runs the broadest possible search, but if you want to search by a specific author name, title, etc., you can switch the drop-down menu settings.
Once your search results appear, you can start to narrow these down even further using the facet boxes on the left. For instance:
- Search options lets you limit to what is accessible online. By default, an Articles+ search EXCLUDES newspaper articles, but if you want to include them in your search, you can uncheck the "exclude newspaper articles" box here.
- Publication Date : Use this to specify a range of dates of publication (by year, or even down to the month and date).
- Content Type: Choose from magazine articles, journal articles, images, mansucripts, and more.

Digital Collections and Databases

American Indian Newspapers
Presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and British Columbia, including Alaska, Arizona, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
Black Abolitionist Papers
Black Abolitionist Papers gathers and makes accessible from over 100 libraries and archives, primary sources created by African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. Content includes letters, speeches, editorials, articles, sermons, and essays.
Black Thought and Culture
Inlcudes books, essays, speeches, articles, letters, interviews, and other documents from Black writers, activists, and leaders, from the 17th century to the present.
HarpWeek
Searchable full text and page images of Harper's Weekly, the popular illustrated 19th and early 20th-century American periodical (1857-1912). Includes a rich collection of indexing and finding aids for textual contents and illustrations.
Black Newspapers
Full text and full-image articles from major African American newspapers including but not limited to the Atlanta Daily World, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, and the Chicago Defender.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
Previously unpublished letters and diaries of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th century.The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
Nineteenth Century collections online
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
North American Indian thought and culture contains biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. Biographies include works on Quanah Parker, Dennis Banks, Susan La Flesche Picotte, Cochise, Jim Thorpe, Crowfoot, Peter Pitchlynn, Sacajawea, Geronimo, Hosteen Klah, Black Elk, Pocahontas, George Washington Grayson, Standing Buffalo, and many more.
Eight Centuries
Includes several 19th-century book and periodical indexes, including indexing of the New York Daily Tribune (1875-1906) and The New York Times (1863-1905),
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.
Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
Contains books, trade cards, pamphlets, posters, and advertisements for medical information and self treatments marketed toward laypersons in the United States in the 19th century.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Sun (1837-1985), Boston Globe, Call and Post (1934-1991), Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997), Irish Times (1859-2009), Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Scotsman (1817-1950). Every page in PDF files.