LibGuides: FYWB 1126: Reading the Future (Shelichach): Articles

General Scholarly Journal Databases

EBSCOhost research databases
Allows you to search simultaneously across more than one hundred databases in a variety of fields. Includes key databases in Art, Architecture, Business, History, Education, Psychology, Religion, Social Sciences, and Science.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. It is also very useful for seeing if other scholars have cited a book, article, etc. Search on the title, and then follow the "Cited by ..." link.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
ProQuest
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).

Humanities and Literature Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided.
Black Studies Center
"A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975."
Gender Studies Database
Gender Studies Database, produced by National Information Services Corporation (NISC), combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
Humanities Full Text
Brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
Literature Online (LION)
A fully searchable library of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, criticism, and key secondary sources.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Project Muse
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

Science Databases for Environmental Science

ScienceDirect
Contains articles, reviews, book chapters, and more in scientific, technical, social science, humanities, and medical fields. Contents include abstracts, tables of contents, full text articles, and data-sets.
BIOSIS citation index
Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It covers original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, and microbiology, and related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology, and interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. Available with up to 18 million records to 1926.
BioOne
Collection of the full texts of various research journals focused on the biological, biomedical, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
The Agricultural & Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content along with expert indexing of global literature across these fields and related disciplines. Students, researchers, teachers, and professionals benefit from the precision and comprehensive discovery the database provides through peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, magazines, and grey literature as well as working papers, conference papers and proceedings. The database provides a unique solution for agricultural research and allied disciplines including: agricultural economics; animal and veterinary sciences; aquaculture and fisheries; farming and farming systems; food and human nutrition; forestry; and plant sciences. Users can expect full-text articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA
Environment Complete
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more
Earth, atmospheric & aquatic science database
he Earth, atmospheric & aquatic science database includes the renowned Aquatic sciences and fisheries abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic abstracts, and Meteorological & geoastrophysical abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth's air, land, and water environments.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Scopus
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to records from the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research most relevant to the area of interest. Using linked cited references, subject connections between articles that are established by the expert researchers can be explored.

Connecting Google Scholar to Columbia's Databases

Steps to connect Google Scholar with Columbia's Databases 

Go to scholar.google.com
Click on the 3 horizontal bars in the upper left-hand corner
Click on "Settings"
Click on "Library Links" in the left-hand menu
Search for Columbia University and select "Columbia University in the City of New York - Columbia e-link >>"
Hit Save
Click the "Columbia e-link >>" to access full-text links to Columbia University Libraries' journal subscriptions.

FYWB 1126: Reading the Future (Shelichach)

Research Librarian

Free Subscription to the New York Times!

Free Digital Subscription to the New York Times!

Times Machine

General Scholarly Journal Databases

Humanities and Literature Databases

Science Databases for Environmental Science

Connecting Google Scholar to Columbia's Databases

Steps to connect Google Scholar with Columbia's Databases