LibGuides: Anthropology Senior Seminar: Ethnographic Research

Ethnography: Articles, Books, Media, Texts from the Field

Anthropological fieldwork online
Anthropological Fieldwork Online brings the fieldwork underpinning influential ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today. Content is focused around each scholar's prominent field experience, with comprehensive inclusion of fieldwork, contextualizing documents from the same time period, including correspondence, and subsequent writings that led to major publications such as draft manuscripts, lectures and articles.
Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
AnthroSource
Provides archived issues of the American Anthropological Association’s journals, newsletters, and bulletins.

Autoethnography As Feminist Method by Elizabeth Ettorre
ISBN: 9781317236160
Publication Date: 2016
Through personal stories, the author reflects on how feminists negotiate agency and the effect this has on one's political sensibilities, considering the sensitizing of the "feminist 'I'."
Crumpled Paper Boat by Anand Pandian (Editor); Stuart J. McLean (Editor)
ISBN: 9780822373261
Publication Date: 2017
Crumpled Paper Boat is a book of experimental ventures in ethnographic writing, an exploration of the possibilities of a literary anthropology. These original essays from notable writers in the field blur the boundaries between ethnography and genres such as poetry, fiction, memoir, and cinema.
Doing Ethnographic Research by Kimberly Kirner; Jan L. Mills
ISBN: 9781544334066
Publication Date: 2019
This workbook is loaded with exercises, how-to sections and checklists, all designed to serve as a supplemental support for students to apply the principles and concepts learned from the textbook it accompanies. Covers research design, ethics, writing fieldnotes, coding and analysis, and more.

eHRAF World Cultures
Features full text ethnographies that are organized into cultures and ethnic groups.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context.
Ethnographic Video Online
Offers access to classic and contemporary ethnographic documentaries in streaming video. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.

Experimenting with Ethnography by Andrea Ballestero (Editor); Brit Ross Winthereik (Editor)
ISBN: 9781478010746
Publication Date: 2021
Experimenting with Ethnography collects twenty-one essays that open new paths for doing ethnographic analysis. The contributors--who come from a variety of intellectual and methodological traditions--enliven analysis by refusing to take it as an abstract, disembodied exercise. Rather, they frame it as a concrete mode of action and a creative practice.
Rapid Ethnographies by Cecilia Vindrola-Padros
ISBN: 9781108493369
Publication Date: 2021
Rapid ethnographies are used in a wide range of fields to speed up research quickly and effectively. This book is the first practical guide to rapid ethnographies, helping readers to improve skills in the design, implementation, dissemination and use of findings generated through rapid ethnographic research. It gives advice and guidelines for carrying out rapid and rigorous research and provides details of tools used in the field.
Writing Ethnographic Fieldnotes by Robert M. Emerson; Rachel I. Fretz; Linda L. Shaw
ISBN: 9780226206820
Publication Date: 2011
The authors present a series of guidelines, suggestions, and practical advice for creating useful fieldnotes in a variety of settings, demystifying a process that is often assumed to be intuitive and impossible to teach.