LibGuides: SPAN 3435: Language and Revolution: home

about this guide

Use this guide to get familiar with key resources and strategies for research for Language and Revolution, with Professor Ronald Briggs.

reference sources to find background information on your topic
catalogs to search for books in print and online
databases for locating scholarly journal articles, including texts in Spanish
approaches to finding primary sources & historical news articles, including texts in Spanish
resources for citing your sources and writing.

Image: Rafael Serra - Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Rafael Serra." The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1896. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47da-7151-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99. Public domain.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Provides access to biographical essays focusing on all genres and time periods of American and British literature and selected other literatures. Essays discuss the lives and careers of authors and summarize critical responses to their work.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
provides a fully searchable bilingual dictionaries, including a Spanish-English and English-Spanish dictionary online, with supplementary resources in Spanish language history, culture, and colloquialisms.
Oxford Reference Premium

Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Latin American History
Publication Date: 2015-
A digital research encyclopedia that describes Latin American cultures, histories, and experiences from pre-Columbian to contemporary times. Includes images and some access to original sources.

Real Academia Española
collection of online Spanish language resources covering Spain and Latin America, including historic and regionally specific dictionaries and corpuses.